XBMC etc Questions

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by just slackin', Mar 7, 2006.

1. just slackin'

just slackin'

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +104
    sorry, i am really new to this and have searched for answers but every time i answer one question it seems to throw up at least 5 others.

i have an xbox which i bought on the day they were released years ago. it is chipped with an xecuter chip (one of the really early ones i think). i would like to enable hi def on the xbox and use xbmc. at the moment the xbox only has the original dash on it.

the questions i have:

1. if i put a new hdd in the xbox then could i just swap them over and install whatever i need to onto the new drive? not really bothered about copying over my save games at this stage - if ever - but if i had any hassle then presumably i could just put the old drive back in?

2. does xbmc allow you to run hi def from the hdd in the xbox? if so then i'd definitely like to put in a new hdd because it won't be permanently connected to my pc.

3. i have heard that i'll need to switch the box over to ntsc to use the hi def cable - not a problem 'cos i have used the enigmah thing before. what is the difference between a hi def cable with a box and one without - i've seen both for sale?

4. what do i actually need to install to get the 720i and 1080i options - is it just the evox dash? i thought i'd use the slayer disk (which i have somewehere).

5. likewise for xbmc - do i just download the latest version or will i need to find codecs etc?

i think there are other questions but i can't think of them now!!

thanks to anybody who has time to help - or even point me to good online guides which would cover the questions above.

2. shemau

shemau
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2

I will take a shot at some of the questions. I have a Crystal XBOX 1.6 with Excutor 2.6 or 3 I think.
    1. Never done this. Sorry.