Xarus 5000's give off to much bass

qwazew

Standard Member
I am quite new to mixing and matching a hifi, so please bear with me. My Xarus 5000 speakers give off too much bass.

I have tried turning the bass down and raising the treble trying to improve and have invested in an equaliser which has helped somewhat. The speakers are bi-wired so I have turned off the two lower bass cones. The volume knob rarely goes above a 1/8th, any louder and the bass reverberates around the entire building.

I have come across pair celestion F2 speakers on gumtree for £55 which look as if they will give more mid/treble with minimal bass. Would these be worth buying? I listen to hendrix, the white stripes, space buddha at weekends but mostly listen to :blush: radio 4 during the week.

My current setup is

amplifier denon pma-500ae
cd player denon dcd-825
tuner denon tu-260
equaliser technics sh-e50
speakers wharfdale xarus 5000

Ben Jammin

You bought DJ speakers, what did you expect? :)

Nearly any hi-fi speaker will give much less bass. I happen to have the Xarus and the Bass is great fun but sometimes overwhelming.

If you really want light bass get some small standmounts.

Last edited:

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
The end result is the same, but you are short on quite a few details. Like where are the speakers placed? If the are pushed back against the wall or shoved into the corner, then no wonder the bass is overwhelming.

However, if you've got a bit of space around them, then it is odd you can't find a reasonable balance using a graphic equalizer.

Next, describe the room from an acoustic perspective. Is the bass too much everywhere in the room, or only in the spot you happen to be sitting it. It is possible the reflected bass wave are re-enforcing each other in just that precise spot. If so, there should be a comparable NULL in some other part of the room.

How big is the room?

Is very bare with lots of hard surfaces?