X900E Sound/Receiver Issue

Discussion in 'Sony TVs Forum' started by dieselman1, Dec 7, 2017.

  1. dieselman1

    dieselman1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    My X900E will not play sound through the Dennon receiver. I have the HDMI cable connected to HDMI 3/Arc on the TV, and HD out/Arc on the receiver.

    The receiver plays sound from the other devices (Cable, PS4) that are connected to it, if the corresponding input is selected on the receiver.

    However, the receiver does not play sound when I try to watch movies through the Smart TV apps built into the x900e such as Netflix. The sound from Netflix comes from tv, rather than the receiver.

    How do I set this up so the receiver also sounds on the smart TV apps?
     
  2. StefanBFC

    StefanBFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    981
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bury, Greater Manchester
    Ratings:
    +237
    There should be a setting on the tv to use external speakers for TV sound. Set the receiver to tv sound and not cable
     
  3. dieselman1

    dieselman1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a setting to use external sound for the TV. I found that. Where do I set the input on the receiver to use TV sound? Currently, the receiver sets the sound to whichever input is being used i.e. Cable.
     
  4. StefanBFC

    StefanBFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    981
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bury, Greater Manchester
    Ratings:
    +237
    What receiver have you got? Just select it by source to TV sound. Apps on the tv will use TV Sound if you've HDMI lead is plugged in from sky straight to the receiver. So it would be cable for sky, tv sound for TV
     
  5. dieselman1

    dieselman1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dennon AVR2300. Not sure what you mean by a cable from the sky. How do I select it by source to tv sound?
     
  6. StefanBFC

    StefanBFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    981
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bury, Greater Manchester
    Ratings:
    +237
    Sorry that didn't make much sense.
    If you have an hdmi cable directly from your sky box to the receiver then the receiver source needs to be on sky/cable setting. Then I'm guessing you have a single hdmi cable going from the TV (Arc) to monitor 1. If so, select your apps or netflix on your TV. Then change your source on the receiver from cable to TV Audio. Providing you've set up external speakers on the TV that should work.
    Just use your remote on the receiver and press TV Sound.
     

Share This Page

Loading...