1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X58 vs Sandy Bridge??? Do I need system upgrade?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by theraq, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. theraq

    theraq Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,445
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wembley
    Ratings:
    +64
    Hello,

    I tried to search for comparison or any post related to my question but was unable to find any info here.

    So...

    I am confused :confused:

    I got i7 extreme processor, X58 setup and pc upgrade bug :devil:

    Recently I upgraded my i7 rig and now Sandy Bridge is out :mad:. So my X58 setup is better then Sandy Bridge I mean X58 still better then Sandy Bridge?

    Couple of charts on different review sites show Sandy Bridge beet i7 processors, so if that is the case why Intel just launched couple of X58 boards? also if you see their forecast chart X58 will continue till late 2011/2012.

    Why?

    Can anyone help me to understand this confusion.... :lease:

    Thank You

    PS: I know it is a fruitcake question... but :confused:
     
  2. Clav

    Clav Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +60
    No you don't need to upgrade.
     
  3. bobfoc

    bobfoc Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bishops Stortford
    Ratings:
    +74
    Nope. Personally if you got the upgrade bug.... I'd wait for the true i7 - X58replacement.

    Not quite sure when that is coming out, but your pc will more than cope until then.

    I'm only running on a 920 D0 with a 5970, and that mashes most things I throw at it (bar Crysis!). Kinda thought about the whole Sandy Bridge upgrade for a brief moment, but decided to upgrade my case and watercooling setup instead.

    B
     
  4. Clav

    Clav Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +60
    If you want a proper performance upgrade get an SSD (if you don't have one already).
     
  5. reeve1987

    reeve1987 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,402
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +108
    agreed i have an i7 and looking to upgrade to an SSD instead on a mobo and cpu upgrade. the sandybridge in my eyes is a stop gap between the X58 and the REAL replacements. an ssd will give a better performance boost than changing to a sandybridge setup
     
  6. namuk

    namuk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,808
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,107
  7. theraq

    theraq Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,445
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wembley
    Ratings:
    +64
    Hi

    Thanks for your replies.

    Yes I already got 120GB OCZ V2E SSD drive.

    My current config is

    i7 980x (Extreme Edition)
    Intel DX58SO2 Board (I stick to Intel because of their stable performance as per my experience)
    Noctua NH-U12P Processor cooler
    12GB Corsair Dominator-GT 2000 MHz ( PC3-16000 )
    1 x 120GB OCZ V2E SSD
    4 x Samsung HD103SJ Spinpoint F3 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm
    2 x Samsung HD204UI Spinpoint F4 2TB Hard Drive SATA 5400rpm
    Cooler Master HAF X Full tower case
    XFX HD 6970 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Graphics Card
    etc. etc. :devil:

    I hope this is good enough stuff and better then Sandy Bridge?
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  8. namuk

    namuk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,808
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,107
    Sandybridge is miles better, anyway how much for the 980x :D seriously though stick with what you have as 6 to 8 core is the future:cool: no way would i swap your current setup to Sandybridge ,

    BTW are you overclocking the 980x? i hope you are.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  9. theraq

    theraq Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,445
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wembley
    Ratings:
    +64
    :confused: didn't get you... its a sarcasm or you really think SB is better...

    And yes I over-clocked it but having problems with stable memory over clocking. Bit busy now to check it next week I am off (office) so will try again.

    PS: Looking for blu-ray writer any help
     
  10. namuk

    namuk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,808
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,107
    sarcasm mate :) keep your current setup you will gain nothing on upgrading to sandybridge and you will be going from 6 core down to 4 core, just wait for Lga2011 socket.
    few benches here with the 980x and 2600k Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5-2500K & Core i7-2600K Processors Review

    the memory issue switch all the power saving stuff off in the bios.
     
  11. theraq

    theraq Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,445
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wembley
    Ratings:
    +64
    Thanks! :thumbsup:
     
  12. anj288

    anj288 Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Exeter
    Ratings:
    +1
  13. timmothy

    timmothy Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    your processor is already brilliant, there is no need for you to upgrade anytime soon, dont worry about it :)
     
  14. Gatterix

    Gatterix Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    No mate simple answer your rig at stock is as good as a highly overclocked Sandy Bridge. The X58 chipset also has more features when compared to the Sandybridge socket such as 16 x 16 PCI-E for Crossfire or SLI and triple channel ram to name a few.

    You also won't have possible problems with your SATA controller which the current batch of Sandybridge mobo's have.

    Chris
     
  15. alasrati

    alasrati Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +95
    Get yourself 3 more SSDs and RAID 0 them.
     
  16. the cod god

    the cod god Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    lol got enough storage there mate?
     

Share This Page

Loading...