1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X10 Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by gilesm, Feb 7, 2005.

1. gilesm

gilesm
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all

I'm new to all this X10 stuff, and I'm not an electrician but looking for some help on what I need, and costs.

I have a 6 year old house and I'm finally getting round to getting the lighting sorted out. My lounge (20ft by 17ft) for instance has a single pendent in it in the middle and no wall lights. I've arranged for an electrician to come and fit new mains powered halogen downlighters, in the lounge and my halls and stairs (over 3 stories).

I like the idea of being able to switch on and off my lights remotely, and also doing that while I'm away on holiday, so I'm toying with the X10 idea.

My thoughts so far are that I'd like to control all 6 downlighters in my lounge as one, ie switch on/off dim all lights, I do not want individual control of each of them. The lamps I already have I'd also like to control but probably on an individual basis. For the lamps it's easy I think I need an X10 module for each. My confusion comes with the downlighters. Do I need an X10 module with each? or can I control them from the switch as one, and thus only have one module? If so what do I need?

The same goes for the stairs and landings (which I have 3). There'll be 4 downlights on each floor, I want to control the 4 on a floor as a whole, but switch on or off a floor at a time remotely. Again do I need an X10 module for each?

I guess my concern with this is if I need a module per downlight then it's probably going to be too expensive to contemplate.

If I can go with X10 then I'll be wanting to add a timer to this, maybe PC controlled - but thats ahead in the future.

Thanks

Giles

2. rectorydp

rectorydp
    Standard Member