x1 or xe1

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by m.leigh, May 3, 2007.

  1. m.leigh

    m.leigh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorry but cant decide,i have a hitachi 42 pd500 plasma,+hitachi pjx200 pj (both 1080i)and want to get a hd player.my dvd player is a sony dvp 930 sd player.basically is it worth buying the tosh e1 for its upscaling or will i not see much of an improvement(only really bothered about pj pic).thanks:confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  2. jacko5

    jacko5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +173
    I have a Sony RDR-HX900 DVD recorder/player which I believe is a decent performer. When I bought the XE-1 the step up in picture quality was considerable. The upscaling properties are excellent giving a very good image via HDMI on my LCD tv and my PJ. I understand that the much cheaper E1 is a good upscaler too.
     
  3. hottstuff

    hottstuff
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +149
    I have the HD-E1 and it is indeed a great upscaler.
    If your display is 1080i then you only need the HD-E1.
    Although on the other hand if you have no HDMI reciever you will need the HD-XE1 for analogue 5.1 out to hear the HD sounds.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    You might also need an audio delay facility, so be aware.
     
  5. TrevorS

    TrevorS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +175
    However, the E1 does take the DD+ and DD-THD tracks and cross-converts them to 1.5Mbps DTS for the S/PDIF Toslink output. Although this doesn't deliver the full DD-THD resolution of HDMI LPCM or 5.1 analog, it still does VERY well. Since DD+ typically maxes at 1.5Mbps, that also performs well via cross-coded Toslink bitstream.

    So don't feel you have to have either HDMI or 5.1 analog in order to benefit from the advanced audio tracks.
     
  6. Silver Serpent

    Silver Serpent
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +415
    Do the E1 and XE1 have lip sync issues?
     
  7. city fan

    city fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +76
  8. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,002
    No they don't.If it does then it's a faulty player,get a replacement.
     
  9. CarlB

    CarlB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,355
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +280
    Approximately 65% of owners polled also see lipsync issues, though it's probably a combination of disc and processing/player errors rather than solely the player. If 65% of players were 'faulty' then it's a pretty shocking successful build rate.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=502352
     
  10. city fan

    city fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +76
    Hi Kingfats, yes some do! And you've contradicted yourself by saying return it if does :)

    Look at the Lip Sync poll. If you've got an amp that has correction you should be ok.

    Also there is some dispute as to whether it's the fault of the player, many other factors involved including video processing times. I actually think it's compatability problems with peoples equipment.
     
  11. Maki

    Maki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overton Morecambe
    Ratings:
    +16
    Is there a real world difference in upscaling between the E1 and the XE1 or is it not that big a deal? After all there is £200 between them is there £200 better picture on upscaling. Incidentially I have a 1080i screen.
     
  12. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    What is your screen?
     
  13. hottstuff

    hottstuff
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +149
    But spend on a hdmi amp and you will fully benefit from them all.
    If you dont feel the need to spend , get a 360 HD-DVD addon instead.
    That will eventually play DTS @ 1.5Mbps
     
  14. Maki

    Maki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overton Morecambe
    Ratings:
    +16
    I have the 50"PX60 screen.
     
  15. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,002
    Yep,fair enough!
    It's just that some people post on here as if every Xe1 or E1 is faulty out of the box,which is not true and that surely must put a lot of people off getting into and enjoying high definition dvd.But of course i understand members posting their problems with their players,as they should.
    I can only post my experience and what i know from the others around me.
    My bruv also has the Xe1 now which also has no lip synch problem.Plus a couple of my work colleagues have the E1.......again no lip synch issues.
    I agree with you about the compatability problem with peoples equipment,get it right and you're flying.
    Anyway i'm off to my pond!
     
  16. mray

    mray
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +235
    Hi Maw.
    Isn't it possible for Toshiba to implement an option for audio delay via firmware? The Oppo and Panasonic players have this option.
     
  17. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,055
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +224
    Yep. Hopefully one day!:lease:
     
  18. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,055
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +224
    Whatever does it for you babe!;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...