1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X-BOX Virgin - Go Easy

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by digisocialist, Dec 12, 2004.

  1. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all - I've just purchased an XBOX for my son for Christmas. Having absolutely no experience of the gaming world (I'm old and can remember Astro Wars... but that's about it) can people let me know if there is anything I need to know/do to ensure it can be used fully over the X-mas period. The kinds of things I'm thinking about are:

    Will it play DVD's so the kids can watch their films on it OR do I need some special extra hardware or sw modification? If yes to the latter what do I need and how do I obtain it?

    I presume I can just plug it into the TV via SCART and away I go. Anything else I need to know like does it perform better with a good quality SCART lead.

    Please give me a list of any features, things I should know so I can have a hassle free christmas and get the most out of the XBOX for my son (and me :) )

    Thanks in anticipation.
     
  2. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you want to play dvd's on it then you need to get a remote control for it, with the bit that plugs into one of the controller ports, but this will only let you play region 2 discs.(if its a PAL remote kit ofcourse)
     
  3. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,379
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,233
    The xbox comes with a crap scart lead. If you want better quality I would recommend the advanced scart lead, it also has an optical connection to connect to an AV amp. Like this one at amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos...103/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i1_xgl/026-3547894-6979653 but there should be places doing it cheaper than that.

    You probably know this but I will say it just in case, the Xbox basic console comes with no games. Unless you bought it as a package with games included I would buy a game to go with it otherwise it will be of no use over Christmas!
     
  4. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,012
    You'll want that advanced scart lead if you have a 5.1 system to plug into, as xbox games (as well as dvds obviously) often have 5.1 surround sound. The output from xbox advanced leads is normally optical - if you ahave a 5.1 processor which only has coax input, you can get a converter. However, none of this would ruin xmas.
     
  5. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys! I haven't got 5.1 yet (I'm currently teetering on the edge of getting the Denon AVR3805) so X-Box will be straight connection to a Sony KLVL23M1 via SCART. Could go Component & RCA but suspect it doesn't support these connections without some other kind of adapter.

    Would the 'Advanced SCART Lead' be better than say a IXOS or QED Scart > SCART? Or is it a special XBOX termination at the Console end > SCART which means only the XBOX version can be used?

    BTW - Did get console as a bundle with Incredibles, Worms & Urbz Sims... so will have some games to play. My son wants a driving game also to use one of those steering wheel things with... any suggestions on a) which driving game would be good (child & adult) and which driving wheel thingmajig would be the best to get... (money no concern)

    :)
     
  6. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Yes the xbox does have a different termination at one end and normanl scart at the other so using a IXOS or QED scart is a no no, although IXOS do make a xbox scart lead, but iirc it does not have 5.1 capabilities. But stick to the Official Microsoft Advanced Scart for best results.

    Driving Game. Quite a choice available due to different styles of racing games available. There is a thread in this forum about the best racing game on xbox (it's Project Gotham 2 by the way :devil: ) i'm sure your find the answer you need there.

    Steering Wheel. I hate the things! so can't recommend any of them. To me they just make each and every game 50 times harder than it is to play with a pad. But some people do swear by them, i suspect they're mad, and i believe Mad Catz do a couple of good ones for about £40.
     
  7. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,608
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,816
    Hehe I love it...as soon as someone asks about "the best driving game on the Xbox" iamtheone is there in a flash with the answer ;) . He is correct though PGR2 is a brilliant game although it's quite hard and requires a fair bit of practice - one more for the adults. For a child i'd be tempted to go for Outrun 2 - fast, fun, great graphics & pretty easy to control :thumbsup: .

    Scart lead - Go for the official Advanced scart lead or the Joytech one (about £10 cheaper and identical in performance) - both are great leads with optical out (should you go for the 5.1 amp ;) )

    I'd also not bother with a steering wheel - the only decent one i've played on (the Logitech driving force pro) is only available for the PS2. Generally as iamtheone mentioned using the pad is best :thumbsup: .

    That's it really just make sure you get another controller (for 2 player games), the advanced scart lead and a nice supply of games. If your son wants to watch DVD's then also go for the dvd playback kit as you'll need this. The only other thing that i'd recommend for the XBox is to sign up for XBox live (if you have broadband) as that enables you to play games with other people over the internet and is great fun! There are various XBox live starter kits around where you get a game, headset and 12 months subscription to XBox like for around £60. :clap:
     
  8. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Wow guy's thanks for your advice.

    I have bought an extra control pad, so that's covered.

    I will go and buy the Advanced SCART Lead and possibly the DVD remote thing.

    I'll take your advice also on the steerin wheel and hold off. Only if sobs of dissapointment are heard on x-mas morn will be tempted to get him one in the new year - though I can't see it, I'm sure he'll be more than happy just getting to grips with the basic control pads - He's only 6!!!

    I will check out those games you recmonded also. :thumbsup:
     
  9. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oh and yes I do have broadband - I'm permanently hard wired! One of the games we got in the bundle does say 'Live' on it, I think it was the Incredibles (wrapped now so can't check). Do I need anything special to play that online?
     
  10. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Thats because I speak the truth :D

    As for the 'live' thing. I wouldn't recommend it if its only going to be your son playing the xbox(its a fairly adult community(if you disregard all American players)so the chat is of adult topics etc)), but if you are going to play the xbox then yeah certainly get live, its the most fun you can have with a games console. As for special equipment, it depends, is the easy answer. You could connect the xbox to the pc(via network cable) and use Internet Connection Sharing, get a Router to connect the pc/xbox to, or a wireless router and wireless bridge if cables are a problem. The Incredibles i don't think is a online playable game, iirc it has 'Xbox Live Aware' basically it just connects to live while you are playing so that your 'friends' can see that you are playing and can send you invites to the game they are playing.
     
  11. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks man. I'm covered on the I.T front, am coupled up via a Linksys Router (4 port Ethernet & 802.11g)

    I suppose on the 'Gaming' side, I just need to practice and learn. Thanks for the heads up on the Live Community. Obviously I would proceed with caution on anything like that anyway i.e. lot's of late nights myself before letting my 6 yr old anywhere near it...nevertheless, thanks for the warning.

    Incidentally I'd be interested to know how the XBOX deals with attacks...?? Obvioulsy I'm firewalled via the Router, but have AV running on the PC. Anything un-invited coming down the pipe that gets passed the f/wall can presumably interogate the console..... Can you mstsc - telnet session to it or manage the console via a GUI? You'd think so with it being a MS product. Would be interested to know if you can run AV on it....

    OMG - I've just realised I've only had it in my possesion for less than 24hrs and it's still boxed and already I'm being pulled in!
     
  12. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +71

    I would agree defo on this one although you could always simply disconnect the mic/earphone and still play online and make sure the sound output is to the(disconnected) headset (as opposed to the speakers) so his ears only get the sounds of the game.
     
  13. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    As a bog standard console then no, if you chipped it and ran Linux then you would be able to.

    AFAIK there are no virii for the X-box standard OS that have been distributed via Live, the hardware firewall will be fine.
     
  14. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Is that even written in English?????? :eek: Atleast someone speaks gobdlegook :laugh:
     
  15. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can't contain my excitement! :D My wife is warning me already to hang back when my son opens his present.. and let him get on with it. Of course... but when night falls and the little angels are in bed and all is quiet about the house... :devil:
     
  16. GreenBhoy

    GreenBhoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +10
    MSTSC = Microsoft Terminal Services Client
    Telnet = connection over a specific port via a DOS type window

    Basically I think Digisocialist is asking if he can connect/control the Xbox from his PC
     
  17. McGraw

    McGraw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    *stop the press*

    Your TV supports high definition/progressive scan.

    It's criminal not to softmod it to output in high-def.

    pm me if you need further info.
     
  18. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    McGraw - The Sony KLVL23M1 does indeed state it is 'HDTV Ready' on a sticker on the front. However there is very little information about this from Sony. There is no HDMI or DVI port, just your bog standard x2 SCART, S-Vid and Component. It might be quite nice to get a Component In connection but surely the Xbox would have to output in progressive... does it? If so at what resolution? This is intruiging. I'm not sure if this is what you are suggesting is possible with my TV.

    Obviously if Component is the best way to go, I would need an AV adapter other than the advanced that supported Component output.

    Please enlighten me.

    :)
     
  19. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,608
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,816
    Your XBox can output in resolutions up to 720p & 1080i if you get it modded, however the Pal XBox will not output High Def images in it's "virgin" state. You also need the Hi Def kit which allows you to hook teh console up to your HD compatable TV. You can soft mod (mod using software) or hard mod (mod by installing a chip onto the motherboard) your console to output Hi Def. :thumbsup:

    For everything you need to know on this subject read the info on THIS site.
     
  20. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks gthom3. My only concern is that whilst the sticker on the TV states it is HDTV ready, I don't actually know whether it is in the true sense. I dont want to go to the effort of modding unless I will definately get what I expect 720p! Can anyone confirm whether this TV will display at 720p?
     

Share This Page

Loading...