1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X Box. US or UK?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by Nic Rhodes, Apr 2, 2002.

1. Nic Rhodes

Nic Rhodes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    A few simple X Box questions to you guys in the know however at this game I am a newbie.

I am not a gamer and never really have been. I look at each new console however and none have inspired me until now. The X Box looks really good but I can’t decide on a UK one or a US one, here is why

DVD Player bit

Am I correct that what ever DVD player ‘dongle’ I plug into my X box (US or UK), whether R1 or R2 ‘dongle’ will write something to the hard disc for ever and fix the region? Has anyone done a multi region hack? I don’t need DVD playback but as a back up it might be useful if it was region aware.

Progressive Scan bit

The US model seems to be able to do 480i, 480p, 720p and 1080i with the HD cable (component). Is this correct? I assume it is also a game thing with most US games 480p capable and a few (in the future) might have 720p capability?

The UK model I know does interlaced (is it 576i?). Will it also do 576p if I add a US HD component cable? I assume both the UK model and US model have the same round D connector on the rear. Is this so?

Now I have a JOYTECH Digital AV cable for an X box already (to see how the round D connector worked). Always the engineer! This will give me RGB (Scart), S-video, L and R audio and Toslink Digital (£15). It seems a more capable version of the Microsoft Advanced RGB which just give RGB and DD. It appears that this will give results on either UK or US box.

I have two places for this X box.

1. It will drive a Toshiba DD TV via RGB Scart and Toslink. The Joytek cable will stay in place on the TV and the box will move. It is interlaced only but is PAL and NTSC friendly.