X-Box DVD Region Unlock Code?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by BIGINOIL, Jul 17, 2005.

  1. BIGINOIL

    BIGINOIL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had a good look through the forum and can't see it, apologies if this is one of your top-10 newbie questions!

    Is there a DVD region unlock code for the X-Box?
     
  2. Steve.EX

    Steve.EX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +69
    No.
     
  3. BIGINOIL

    BIGINOIL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +440
    I got a CD iso from a download that ran a small Linux program that makes the XBox drive region free and put's it back again if you want. This is so I could still use the remote control with it as the hacked DVD player (for use on modded boxes) only uses the controller.

    For a limited time only - available here
     
  5. BIGINOIL

    BIGINOIL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Scumball - you're a star!

    I've got an American DVD that I've never seen, a Panasonic DVD player (which can't be unlocked) and an unchipped X-Box. If this works, I'll be made up! I'll be sure to let you know!

    Thanks again!
     
  6. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +440
    Thinking about it you may need a chipped or softmodded Xbox to run this as I'm guessing it will be unsigned code.... :(

    You may have to get a Region 1 DVD dongle from the US - may be worth trying eBay...
     
  7. mcgetta

    mcgetta
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can the Slayer Auto ionstaller be used in conjunction with the Splinter cell soft mod. The reason I ask is that i can manipulate the soft mod to the point whereby the Xbox is accessed via ftp. I can view all the available drives but what then. What files do I need and where to put them on the xbox C: partition in order to enable hi def and play my backups.

    Will Slayer enable all this?
     
  8. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +440
    Why don't you try and install Evo-X (if you have it) as the new dashboard. If it's setup properly in the Evox.ini file then all your programs should be accessible from there.

    You need enigmah video switch to change to NTSC. Once changed you then access the HD options from the MS dashboard - under video options.
     
  9. BIGINOIL

    BIGINOIL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't say I understand all your advice right at the moment, but I will certainly investigate further. I have a mate at work who might know about the Evo-X thing - he's a bit more into this than me. Certainly interested in unlocking more of the capabilities of the X-Box. Many thanks!
     
  10. -Hitman-

    -Hitman-
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sector7
    Ratings:
    +1,112
    Most ppl are using DvdX 2.0 which is also multiregion and you will need a modded box!

    DvdX is also included with slayers installer (slayers installer now at version 2.6).

    Dr.
     
  11. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +440
    My problem was that you cannot use the XBox remote with DVDx only the controllers....
     
  12. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +440
    The Evo-X advice was for mcgetta...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice