1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X Box component cable

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by Greg Hook, Nov 5, 2004.

  1. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    22,614
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +9,318
    Hi

    Trying to find a quality Xbox component cable.

    I want to connect the Xbox to the component connections on my Projector and also connect the sound to my amp.

    Had a quick search on the net but can't find what I want. Found some component cables but they don't have optical for the sound.

    It's a basic Pal unmodded xbox.

    Thanks
    Greg
     
  2. Koalaboy

    Koalaboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Plymouth, Devon
    Ratings:
    +31
    Lik-Sang supply the official Microsoft cable, albeit of Asian origin, and it's a very nice bit of kit - I received mine just last week.

    I think you'll have to either softmod or chip your box to get a progressive picture though. I did find the component cable gives much better colour.

    HTH,

    Michael.
     
  3. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    You can't beat the official microsoft hidef pack.

    I got mine from Ebay, but there's a couple of companies in the uk that sell them too, but the names escape me sorry.
     
  4. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    22,614
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +9,318
    Will it still work without modding the xbox, albeit just for interlaced?
     
  5. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    959
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +119

    Yes, modding will just get you prog scan,
     
  6. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,265
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,881
    Try PM'ing LABRAT he always seem to have loads
     
  7. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +17
    if you change the region to US but dont connect component, should you still get the high def options? A mate wanted to know and I cant be bothered to check :p .....
     
  8. Only777

    Only777
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +124
    no
     
  9. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    22,614
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +9,318
    Sorry for being a dunce, but can someone post a link to one of these MS Component cables. All the ones I have found on liksang and elsewhere don't have the optical cable for the sound.

    Thanks
    Greg
     
  10. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +17
  11. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    22,614
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +9,318
    Doh!
    Thanks

    and this will work with my Pal Unmodded Xbox?
    The description says 'except Pal'
     
  12. Shahel

    Shahel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can only run in hidef mode on NTSC xbox or a pal one that is switched to NTSC and im not to sure about this but as far as i can tell if i connect my pal normal xbox to my plasma via component the colour is all funky :(
     
  13. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +17
    I think it went purple when i had the component on a pal xbox... Not entirely sure though....

    Best is just to do a region switch if you want it for live still...
     

Share This Page

Loading...