X box bios Mod

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by clancol, Apr 13, 2004.

  1. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +7
    A local store near me says that they do a bios mod for the Xbox, that does the same as a chip but without the ability to switch off for XBL(which im not bothered about)

    Does anyone have this?
    Is it anygood?
    If i put in a larger HD at a later date will it affect the bios.

    Dc
     
  2. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    Have you had a go on xbox live? If not then defo make sure it has a switch on, otherwise you'll be locked out of it.

    XBL is awesome mate, don't miss out! :clap:
     
  3. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +7
    Done the XBL thing and Not fussed with it.
    Don't like having to pay for online gaming when i can just us my Pc. Or hook up the Xbox to my pc and connect via Gamespy.
    Thx anyway.
    What i really want to know, is if anyone has experence with the Bios flash mod?
    dc
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    No experience I am afraid but people have been talking about non intrusive bios mods for games consoles for years and I have never heard of any truly succesful one. Certainly on the PS2 the non-intrusive (bios flash only or USB ones) required messy disc swap methods etc.

    My advice is just simply get an Executer chip (or equivalent fitted) and it will do everything you want.
     
  5. supersonic87

    supersonic87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    There is no bios mod mate, if you read about the XBox's encryption you'll find out how hard it is to crack (the game disks use 2048 bit encryption :eek: ). What they are probably doing is using Xecuter2 (not .1 onwards) or earlier modchips, which didn't have switches as standard, go to Bald Bouncer's site or another mod chip fitter and have a chip installed, and one more thing, XBox live IS addictive :D

    Rich
     
  6. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    and all of the above is complete bull.

    http://www.xbox-scene.com/tutorials.php?t=0,0,1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0

    Audio exploit with Mech Assult
    http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/audio-xploit-mech.php

    There are various ways to do it, all of which are based on exploits of security holes in the Xbox OS. supersonic87, i can assure you it CAN be done.

    For all the hassle though, its easier and neater to get a modchip with a switch.
     
  7. supersonic87

    supersonic87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    And if you read the first post, it says that a store is offering a bios mod which does the same as a mod chip which is permanent, anybody can do a bios load (which btw does not rewrite the bios, it simply tricks the games into thinking the bios is of a different origin, that is what the program does.) So this does NOT offer the same as a mod chip, nobody can supply this unless they sell a little slave ti perform the audio exploit everytime :laugh: )

    Rich
     
  8. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/no-modchip-full-guide.php

    Once again, you can flash the bios (which is stored on the tsop BTW) without any modchip at all. All you have to do is make a few connections on the motherboard.
     
  9. biline

    biline
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently prepared my own tutorial based on the great work of others, I had problems deciding on the best method to go about Flashing the TSOP and spent many hours reading tons of diffrent methods and tutorials I complied these Tutorials with photos scavenged over the net and came up with my One-stop complete easy Tutorial with all steps detailed.
    you can see it here:

    http://www.biline.ca/xbox_mod.htm

    Please have a look and let me know if anything is missing I've spent over 40 hrs on the Tutorial so far....
     
  10. Jason S

    Jason S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It certainly sounds like they're offering a TSOP mod, but for the sake of a few extra quid I'd go for a full chip, since they'll have to open the box and connect a few extra points on the board anyway.

    Biline - Tutorial looks spot on mate.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice