Wrong Processor

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Whitey1977, Jul 18, 2004.

  1. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +42
    I have just upgraded my HTPC with a new motherboard, processor and ram. I ordered a Athlon XP 3200+, which is stated on the box, but the bios and windows XP both state it is a Athlon XP 2500+!

    I have been sent the wrong processor, or have a setting wrong on the motherboard (Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro2)?

    Thanks

    Whitey
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Does it not have the processor type/speed printed on the cpu itself?
     
  3. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +42
    They don't usually, just a serial number of some sort.

    I may have to take the pc apart to check but i was hoping that would be the last straw.
     
  4. jimbob19

    jimbob19
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,543
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +50
    There is a program that will id the CPU from www.cpuid.com

    hope this helps :)

    It's called cpu-z
     
  5. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +42
    Thanks for that. This program shows the same result as the bios and windows

    Athlon XP2500+

    Looks like an email to dabs.com then

    Thanks for the help
     
  6. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Is the BIOS on the MB up to date? If it isn't they can misreport the CPU, look on the MB website adn see if a later version is available and what it fixes ;)
    Of course my monies on a DAB's cockup but you never know and it might save you a lot of grief returning it....
     
  7. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,983
    have you checked the multiplier / FSB settingd in the BIOS?

    a 3200 needs to run on a 400(200) FSB, whereas all the other athlons run at 333(166).. if your BIOS doesn't autosense, the FSB will almost certainly be set at 133 or 166 by default.. ??
     
  8. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,983
    infact, thinking about it..

    166 x 11 = 1826mhz ( XP2500 )

    200 x 11 = 2200mhz ( XP3200 )


    I'd have a look at those BIOS settings before you do anything else ;)
     
  9. Whitey1977

    Whitey1977
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +42
    Thanks for the help.

    I flashed the bios to the lastest version and now I have a Athlon XP 3200+

    I think you where right dude with your FSB calculations

    Thanks again!

    Whitey
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice