Would you swap a E50 for a HS2?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nwgarratt, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022
    I have had a E50 for several months and extremely pleased with it. I now have the chance to upgrade to a HS2 without paying any extra?

    Disregarding the hard disk, is the HS2 as reliable as the E50?
     
  2. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,564
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Ratings:
    +1,027
    HS2 doesn't play MP3's! E50 does.
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    The E50 has slightly better playback quality than the HS2 as well. Of course there are many advantages of a HDD/DVDR combo over a standalone so defintely swap...and, aside from the HDD side of things, there are several features the HS2 has that the E50 doesn't (LPCM sound, option to turn seemless playback off etc).
     
  4. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022
    I now have it :D

    It looks good and like it. I need the manual out as I can't see where the auto renewal feature is.

    The playback looks the same as the E50. I never used the MP3 function. My brother has a DV Panasonic camcorder , so the DV in put maybe useful.
     
  5. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,397
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +148
    Chane that to WILL be useful!

    If he's anything like my brother nad has numerous camcorder tapes that need archiving then he's gonna love you!

    Especially when he sees that quality of the DVDs and how easy it is to access scenes through chapters/thumbnails.
     
  6. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022
    I can't seem to see the renewal funtion. The timer just stops at the DVD/HDD selection?

    Edit found it. You have to go back on the date in the timer screen.
     
  7. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022
    Does anyone know where to get one of those digital camera memory card adapters for the HS2?
     
  8. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,397
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +148
    I got mine from 7dayshop.com for about £6 (copmact flash apaptor)
     
  9. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022
    Thanks, I take a look.
     
  10. ivanwilson

    ivanwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry for being naive but how dit you manage to get a free upgrade?
     
  11. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022

    It wasn't from Panasonic.

    My Dad swapped a couple of amps and speakers that he didn't use for the HS2. He gave me it as I have more use of the HDD. I gave him my E50 (6 months old).

    So far it has been excellent. I am getting FR mode RAM recordings in 352 x 756 though.

    My E50 did all recordings at 704 x 576. I put HVR on the HS2 to fixed like my E50.
     
  12. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,397
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +148
    Does this apply to the E100 too?

    What resolutions am I getting in FR mode, say for a 90 minute programme?

    Also, what about SP mode?

    I always thought I got the full res until LP mode.
     
  13. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022
    704 x 576 for less than 2 hours.



    I have been doing research and found out anything over 2 hours 20 min will go down to 352 x 576 on the HS2. How come I can get 704 x 576 resolution with an E50 at 2 hours 48 min?
     
  14. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Perhaps Panasonic just improved the mpeg compression on the E50 (it's a newer design is it not) so that high resolution can be recorded longer. The soon to be released E55 extends the recording time on ram discs due to the same type of improvements. Just guessing though.
     
  15. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,022

    Have you got any info on that? how much longer?

    I managed to get 2 hours 30 minutes of FR mode on a RAM at 704 x 576. With the E50 I can get another 18 minutes.

    I think I found a way round it. I will record to the hard disk in at least SP mode then dub the episodes to RAM. I will then put them on the computer and then use DVD Shrink to compress them to 4.38GB. I will also game a couple of hundred MB of space at the same time (I just get 4GB on a disc when filling up a RAM).

    I think the HS2 might be newer or at least came out at the same time as the E50.
     

Share This Page

Loading...