Would you give your 40gb for a 60gb?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Kryptix, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. Kryptix

    Kryptix
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +259
    My mate got a 60gb PS3 with his phone contract, and he literally played about with it, and it has just sat there.

    I wanted a 60gb, but they were all sold out so just bought a 2nd hand 40gb for £220.

    My mate said he'd swap 'cus he never uses his, and I've been a good mate to him (which I have in fairness lol). There's nothing wrong with it, he just doesn't need SACD/PS2 Support, etc.

    Is there any reason I shouldn't give the 40gb for the 60gb?

    If you were in my position, would you swap?

    Do you think the company that gave him the PS3 with his phone contact buy bust PS3 and recondition them or anything?

    I dunno why, but I'm a tad nervous. I guess I should be over the moon...

    Advice please boys!
     
  2. jasonsutcliffe

    jasonsutcliffe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    No reason not to swap whatsoever in my opinion, unless its nackered!!
     
  3. Kryptix

    Kryptix
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +259
    Well, he hasn't had any problems with it, but he barely ever uses it. I'm just wondering if the phone company reconditioned it or whatever, but he said when he got it the box was immaculate and everything was wrapped up brand new, so it should be OK.

    So should I go for it?
     
  4. Usama

    Usama
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +386
    I would.

    If you use your PS3 alot then the 60GB will be better. ;)

    And the 60GB look's better then the 40GB. :thumbsup:
     
  5. welsh113

    welsh113
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Do you really think the 40gb one looks better then the 60gb?Most people wouldn't know the difference, and in my opinion unless playing ps2 games is an issue I would keep the 40gb as it will have a longer warranty.
     
  6. Jay

    Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    on the battlefield....
    Ratings:
    +2,081
    I agree, there is no major superficial difference between them.

    To the op unless you need either sacd, an extra 2 usb ports, or want to play ps2 games there is no reason to swap. If you do need any of the features the 60gb offers then you have your answer.
     
  7. lapino

    lapino
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Oudenaarde
    Ratings:
    +57
    Another aspect that might be important: most 40gb's are more silent than the 60gb. Some 60gb's are very quiet too, but the 40gb uses a cooler cpu, which results in a more efficient cooling and thus quieter console (unless you got a 'bad' 40gb like mine which makes a noticeable 'rrrr' noise).
     
  8. baldyman

    baldyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    dont forget that most of the upcoming ps3 games copy a large chunk 4gb+ of data to the HD.

    Go for the 60gb if its a straight swap scenario.
     
  9. Dave H

    Dave H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lots of different places!
    Ratings:
    +144
    Swap the 40 gig looks tat compared to the 60 gig :thumbsup:
     
  10. Schumi 01

    Schumi 01
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +374
    I would swap it in an instant, go for it :smashin:, you won't regret it.
     
  11. internetuser

    internetuser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +285
    swap it, ebay the 60 gigger and buy another 40gig one then treat him to a few beers as your a good mate:D
     
  12. Spy

    Spy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +268
    If you are worried about something being wrong with it, it should all be covered by warranty so I wouldn't worry - swap :thumbsup:
     
  13. pgup

    pgup
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're swapping for a discontinued model with extras the 40gb doesn't have, but if you look on E-bay alot of people do want them. You could see it as a small investment.
     
  14. Kryptix

    Kryptix
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +259
    Well, we should be swapping on Friday. Any new opinions on this?
     
  15. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    do it, of course. the sacd playback and ps2 compatibility makes it totally worth it.
     
  16. trip

    trip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +25
    Don't hesitate and make the swap with the idle 60gb PS3 owner. What's he care when he doesn't play with it, he'll still have a PS3 if he wants to use it in time. Hesitate even less so if the reason he's not using it because he's too busy with the 360. :D

    To be serious, of course swap to help one another out. That's what mates are for!
     
  17. danmc_82

    danmc_82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Skynet Border
    Ratings:
    +1,212
    I'd swap it without thinking. Same as what someone said, small investment
     
  18. Pincho Paxton

    Pincho Paxton
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +635
    I love the SACD mode, I'd swap. I've already had to swap down to a 40gb, because mine stopped working, and I can't buy an SACD player for less than £99.
     
  19. Jay

    Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    on the battlefield....
    Ratings:
    +2,081
    Is there any particular reason you want to swap for a 60gb? Do you need any of the features it offers over the 40gb?

    If so then it's pretty clear cut...

    If not then I wouldn't bother.
     
  20. psikey

    psikey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,798
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    If you want to use your PS3 for blu-ray playback then try the 60GB out first. I had two 60GB's & got rid of both as the fans were too noticeable during quiet scenes in movies. The 40GB I now have hardly makes any noise even at fan level 3.

    As to the looks, I much prefer the matt silver finish & black bottom trim to the glossy chrome finish of the 60GB's. Personal choice really.

    Only thing I'd like to have kept with the 40GB was the built-in card readers but no big loss.

    As someone has already suggested, swap, sell the 60GB then buy another 40GB & go out for a good night out with your mate with the extra cash!
     
  21. MrSpaceman

    MrSpaceman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'd think twice about it. If you don't mind fan noise then go on, but I got rid of two 60gb because of the noise during dvd/bd playback. It was driving me crazy.

    Happy with my 40gb. Its ace
     
  22. Rob B

    Rob B
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +556
    See, my 60Gb is perfectly silent, whereas a friend's 40Gb is noticeably louder.

    It's not as straightforward as one being louder than the other, so you'll have to compare the two - maybe go round to his house pre-swap and play on his.

    The 60Gb also contains memory card readers, which I think were removed on the 40Gb.

    Personally, I'd swap.
     
  23. micks_address

    micks_address
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +239
    Its an interesting question.. i have a 60gb which i'd like to exchange for a machine which produces less heat and noise..

    would i be safe going with a 40gb machine? I dont care about hard disk size as i have a 250gb drive which i can stick in the new 40gb.

    i'd be loosing the memory card reader which i've used a few times.. but i mean i have the pc which i can use for transfer via usb device or dvd etc...

    i have never put an SACD in the machine so i dont think i'd miss that feature..

    is it true that the 40gb machine use 65nm cell chips instead of the 90 in the 60gb version? Anyone that has experience of both - would you say the 40gb version kicks out less heat than the 60gb?

    Cheers,
    Mick
     
  24. MrSpaceman

    MrSpaceman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had both and the 40gb is a lot cooler. Certain parts of the 60gb do get hot to the touch.
     
  25. Jay

    Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    on the battlefield....
    Ratings:
    +2,081
    Yes it's true that the 40gb produces less heat which is why it has less ventilation holes...
     
  26. psikey

    psikey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,798
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    Yes, less heat (& noise) from my 40GB compared to both the 60GB's I had.

    Don't know about smaller die size though.
     
  27. Jay

    Jay
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    on the battlefield....
    Ratings:
    +2,081
    The 40gb does use the 65mm chips...
     
  28. Kryptix

    Kryptix
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +259
    I swapped today, and I am now the owner of a 60gb.

    I've had it on for 4 hours now. I watched I Am Legend (DVD) and Ice Age 2 (Blu-ray) and the fan noise seems the same as the 40gb.

    Chuffed that I have a 60gb, though. It just seems more special for some reason. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...