1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Would this Dell be an acceptable base for an HTPC?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by mattwakeman, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. mattwakeman

    mattwakeman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey there,

    Dell are currently running some offers including this one here with following specs:

    Dell 5100
    P4 630 3.0Ghz processor (2mb cache, 800 FSB)
    512m ram
    Xp home
    80Gb drive
    no graphics card (not that this is a hassle)
    no sound card (ditto)

    for £304 delivered.

    Obviously it would take some work to bring it up to spec but is it worth considering?

    Thanks for the time.
     
  2. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +479
    I couldn't possibly recommend a Dell but...:) I just bought an Acer Aspire SA60 with the following specifications
    Intel Celeron D 335 (2.80 Ghz)
    80 GB disk
    256 MB DDR400
    for just 299 Euros or about 200 of your English Pounds.

    I added the FX5200 graphics card, dual TV tuner, 250GB disk & USB IR remote receiver out of my old XP2000+ based Media Center system & it works great. I was surprised that even with only 256MB RAM it is able to playback Live TV on the monitor plus have two Xbox Extenders running with different programmes. It does grumble about system resources being low at times so that I think to be on the safe side I will add another 256MB RAM.
     
  3. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +479
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The big problem is the fact that it only has two genuine PCI slots. If you add a sound card that will leave you one spare. All other devices would need to be USB. If you are happy with that then go ahead. They are incredibly quiet I gather.
     
  5. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    A way to get around this is to use the SPDIF ib the mobo into a surround sound amp.

    Richie.
     
  6. mattwakeman

    mattwakeman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would only be interested in using it to play films and music (so no tv cards or anything like that). Given this, does this make it a better offer?
     
  7. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In that case you could argue that it is over specced!

    The 2.8 is only £269 delivered.

    Dave
     
  8. mattwakeman

    mattwakeman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I take it from this that a 2.8 would be enough to deal with FFshow and the like then?
     
  9. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    I have a 5100.The only noise it makes is the seagate hard drive!

    The mobo I have does not appear to have a spdif out(I think)it does have 5 connections for speakers though.

    It came with a Dell type version of media centre(ish).You can view piccys,movies etc...
    In my opinion it was a great buy!
    The wife did not want a tower,but,she loves the 5100 fits right in she says!
     
  10. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I decided to go for one of these in the end. I cannot find any sign of an s/pdif output on the motherboard though. Are you sure there is one?

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  11. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    I dont think it has s/pdif out on the mobo.
     
  12. Slinkoff

    Slinkoff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +24
    My Dell GX280 desktop is silent. Had a bit of trouble finding a low profile gfx card for it but got a Powercolor ATI 9600SE for it in the end and it does the trick fine. I thought two PCI slots would be a problem but now that there are finally dual dvb-t tuners on the horizon I can have dual tunerage and room left over for my x-mystique dolby live soundcard. A complete solution in a tidy, powerful, silent box. Very happy.

    Dual DVB-Ts...

    http://pressen.terratec.net/modules...e=article&sid=266&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

    (German info on Haupagge card) http://www.golem.de/0508/40149.html
     

Share This Page

Loading...