Would this cable be OK for Dolby Digital?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tvdavid, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
  2. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,847
    Provided your source device (DVD, PS3 etc) outputs it's digital output via optical (which virtually all do) and your amp has optical inputs (which virtually all do) then yes, it will be fine......
     
  3. pmcgsmurf

    pmcgsmurf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +64
    Will be fine as long as your amp has the Optical input.

    I'm using cable from kenable.co.uk and find them to be good and the service/delivery is quick.
     
  4. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
    Thanks.

    I am getting the Sony HT-DDW890 in a few days.

    So am getting the cable for this.

    They seem cheaper on that site.
     
  5. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
  6. chrise

    chrise
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +46
  7. Martin J.

    Martin J.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +175
    Watch out for Amazon marketplace sellers, they're no more reliable than eBay sellers. If you want reliability, make sure you're ordering the item from Amazon themselves - it'll say on the right-hand side of the page right next to the price.
     
  8. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
    I went ahead and ordered it.

    It came to around £12.50 with P&P.

    Still alot cheaper than the ones in Comit which were £20 for 1 M and £50 for some other one.
     
  9. tvdavid

    tvdavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +120
    I got the cable today.

    Have pluged it into my Sky HD box and there is a light coming out the other end but it will not go on my Kenwood KRF-V406oD.

    There dont seem to be no light coming out of the optical in put on this.

    IF its broke it dont matter because I am replacing this with a new AMP.
     

Share This Page

Loading...