1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Would the sony db790 be suitable for these tannoy speakers?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by wixy, Feb 17, 2004.

Tags:
  1. wixy

wixy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The db790 is rated as 100w x 6.

The speakers i am getting are the tannoy mercury mx, with recommended amplifier powers as follows:

mx1 - 10-70 watts
    mx3 - 10-90 watts
    mxc - 10-90 watts
    mxsuv - 75 watts rms, 150 watt peak

Im new to all this, so because the amplifier is rated higher than the speakers, is this a bad thing?

Cheers.

2. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    It will be fine, in this instance i think the speqakers would be happy enough with an amp higher up than that you want to use, so you will not have problems.

ad

3. wixy

wixy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    how can you tell if it will be fine or not though?

4. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    because i have owned some of the speaker package you talk about and i heard it on the end of a yamaha A5 amp! So in part experience.

The biggest concern you have with an amp speaker match is to get ENOUGH power, not too much. I havent actually heard of anyone sensible damaging speakers by using too big an amp. I have certainly tried some exotic configs.... 200W into a 50W rated speaker and have done no harm (of course you can damage it if you go insanely loud, but this will be true of most any speakers).Although the stated sony power seems above the speaker ratings, it is almost standard across the amp area that the ratings are bloated by driving only a single channel at a time and potentially with large distortion. So basically your real world power is very unlikely to be even approaching 100W.