Would getting a new lens help a D3100 in low light conditions?

I am a total beginner.

I've noticed the Nikon D3100 with bundled 18-55mm lens struggles in low light (blurry) photos when I use it.

I will not be using a tripod.

Would a new lens solve this issue?

snerkler

I'm assuming the reason it's blurry is either because the shutter speed is too low, or it's not actually blurry but noisy due to high ISO. Without seeing the pic or EXIF it's hard to say.

If it's slow shutter you can increase the ISO to get the shutter faster, but with the risk of introducing noise. If it's too noisy you can lower the ISO but then you risk the shutter being too slow.

In either case a faster lens (one with a wider aperture/lower f number) would help as it would let more light in (if shot at its wider aperture).

If you're shooting indoors in low light I'd strongly recommend using bounced flash though.

DolbyDan

The answer to the question is yes. A F/2.8 zoom or F/1.8 prime lens will do the trick

Member 55145

Distinguished Member
Yea sounds to me like it has a smaller max aperture. Prob around 3.5. A 1.4 or 1.8 would make a big difference. Or you could invest in off camera flash.

damo_in_sale

A fast prime lens is always a great investment if you only have the kit lens. I think Nikon have a 35mm f1.8 for little money which would be my choice as my next lens purchase if I were in your position. Not only will it let in more light but you'll also get really nice blurry backgrounds if that's what you want.

But a fast prime can't do miracles. Today I shot a kids party, Halloween themed, indoors at a house. Obviously the light was low and although I could get a reasonable shot with a lowish shutter speed with my fast primes, the kids would all be blurred because they move so fast. And ISO would be high.

So I used my flashgun and all shots were at base ISO. I think in these situations a flashgun is invaluable because you can point it at the ceiling so you get a nice diffuse light.