1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Would an upscaler (line doubler) improve the sammy experience?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by mistycat, Mar 20, 2005.

  1. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you all think. Would we Sammy owners almsot have an HD experience? :hiya:
     
  2. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,922
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +7,033
    And here was me thinking you were happy with your Sammy picture... wouldn't bother to be honest, HD material isn't a million miles away (Sky, HD-DVD) by which time you won't really need a scaler cos it's gonna look gobsmacking anyway and should be at the same resolution as the Sammy display. Sure you could probably improve SD material to a certain degree but I don't think the price justifies the expense. It won't be 33% better than it is now put it that way (working on the basis a scaler will cost 33% of the cost of the Sammy approx).

    Cheers
    Andy.
     
  3. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers andy. i just sssssoooooo much want hd
     
  4. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7,121
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +1,639
    just get e good DVD plaver with HD output ! Then order all your DVD's from USA in HIDEF ! The PQ will plow you away, and you will be purrrrrring for weeks :thumbsup:
     
  5. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7,121
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +1,639
    SORRY for spelling !!!! But having a dring problem tonight !!!!!!!! :)
     
  6. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Best way of improving picture quality for the BBC & ITV channells at the moment would be using a good roof ariel straight into your set.
    If your set is anything like my RD50 it does a great job at upscaling to 1280x720p.
    allready.
     
  7. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,550
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
    Save your cash for HD Misty.
     
  8. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks boys. The pq is excellent but after playing around with HD I am addicted. I have ordered the Samsung upscaling dvd, the 935, which should be in for Easter. Can't wait. Also, what I am surviving on now is the HD downloaded from MSoft.

    Where can I get the US dvds over the net? Are they the ones that play through my PC in HD?

    Cheers, Misty.
     
  9. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,550
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,508
  10. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stay away from anything with DRM (digital Rights Management) they will only play if you have an american :r1: internet provider
     
  11. JZEE

    JZEE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I use the Samsung HD-935 connected the my SP46L3HX via DVI - IMO its miles better than a normal player which I have tried as well.

    Also a friend of mine uses an XBox as a DVD player and was also impressed when he saw the 935. Just make sure you've set the output to 720p.
     
  12. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks boys. 935 arriving in the morning.
     
  13. DLPGirl

    DLPGirl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a sammy 50 with panosonic S97. Will i get better picture at 1080i or 720p?? I am so confused :confused: :confused: :lease: :lease:
     
  14. NPM108

    NPM108
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    DLPGirl I think its a matter of preference and all. Your 50 has a native resolution of 720 so if you feed it a 720p signal then its not doing any further scaling.

    With 1080i you have more lines in the display but the picture is Interlaced, meaning that for every cycle only one half, say the top is refreshed/re-drawn and in the next cycle the second half is done. Whereas a progresive picture refreshing/redraws all in one cycle.

    Personally I prefer 720p but thats just me! Think everyone is different...
     
  15. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Both look good i find it very hard to tell as the 1080i is downscaled to 720p by your set anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...