Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Would a 256MB card help with HD 1 ?

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by RecordablDVDfan, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +49
    Would a new (any type ?) 256MB graphics card help with my reception of HD 1 and Astra HD with my Skystar 2 ? If so why ?

    I have used a Geforce AGP MX440 128MB and playback is near perfect but after 10 mins or at least on the Astra HD feed the picture starts badly pixelating

    I have my eye on a Geforce FX5500 AGP card, is this a good one or what about a Radion type ? My cpu is a HT 3.06Ghz with 1GB of PC2700 RAM, 300GB HDD...
     
  2. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    You should be OK with any 8x AGP card, it's the bandwidth of this that made a difference on my system, difference between my Radeon 9800 Pro and my old Radeon 8500 was that I can now watch hi def :)
     
  3. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +49
    Well I can answer my own question, a new Geforce FX5500 256MB makes all the differnece! 30 mins in and I can still get perfect viewing of Astra HD even while recording, with the 128MB card after 10 mins picture would start pixelating
     
  4. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    You'll also notice it's an 8x AGP card! HS stuff needs the memory bandwidth more. MS have a checker somewhere on their site to see how suitable it is for WMV-HD which is a fairly good indicator :)
     
  5. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +49
    Yep but I'm afraid my AGP slot is only 4x still the extra video memory does help a lot. If you find the MS link please post
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice