1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worth Waiting for new pioneer?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by p203557, Aug 27, 2005.

1. p203557

p203557

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi there,

I'm very new to all this game so please be gentle!!!! :lease:

I considering getting a pioneer plasma screen, I've seen the pdp435XDE and have been impressed with the look of it and the picture. However,

The new PDP436xde is being advertised (on www.avland.co.uk amongst others) for £2500. Many places are still quoting higher than this for the older pdp435xde. I'm not in a rush as will be moving in the next couple of months and only want it for the new house. My understanding is that the new screen has better 'black' and an extra hdmi port on it.

Basically what I'm asking is do you think I would be able to pick up a pdp435xde for significantly cheaper once the 436 is released? Also would any saving be worthwhile as the 435 is only going to become more dated in this fast moving technology area?

Although I'm almost totally decided on a pioneer due to strong reviews and liking the look of the panel is there anything else (preferably a bit cheaper) that I should consider?

Any advice will be gratefully received.

Richard

2. dodgyd

dodgyd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +71
    435's are getting scarcer, anywhere that is selling them at a reasonable price is sold out. The chief reasons (for me at least) for deciding to go for the 435 was:

• It's in stock now and I'm renovating our lounge, I can't wait for an item that may or may not come in stock when the plastering is finished, and besides, I had to make a decision as the cables had to be buried.
    • We were planning on going on holiday to New York in the new year, the 435 came with 2 free return flights to NYC or Boston.