Worth Rebuilding old pc or starting afresh?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by dean randle, May 7, 2003.

  1. dean randle

    dean randle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK (Bromley)
    Ratings:
    +6
    I currently have a few years old pentium II 350 pc with a Creative Labs Dxr2 dvd drive and card that has been great over the years for use as a dvd player. However as I intend to be upgrading to a projector in the near future, is it worth rebuilding the pc to use as a htpc, or just buying something new and use that, or start afresh (never built a pc before!)??
    I ran wcpuid on my pc to see find out all the bits you guys might need to know to advise on, so here goes:

    [ WCPUID Version 3.0f (c) 1996-2002 By H.Oda! ]

    Processor #1 : Intel Pentium II / 4D94BD3B
    Platform : Slot 1 (SC242 Connector)
    Vendor String : GenuineIntel
    CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
    Family : 6 (-)
    Model : 5 (-)
    Stepping ID : 2 (-)
    Brand : ----
    APIC : ----
    Name String : ----

    Internal Clock : 350.79 MHz
    System Bus : 100.23 MHz
    System Clock : 100.23 MHz
    Multiplier : 3.5

    L1 I-Cache : 16K Byte
    L1 D-Cache : 16K Byte
    L1 T-Cache : ----
    L1 Cache : ----
    L2 Cache : 512K Byte
    L2 Speed : 175.39 MHz (Half)

    MMX Unit : Supported
    SSE Unit : Not Supported
    SSE2 Unit : Not Supported
    MMX2 Unit : Not Supported
    3DNow! Unit : Not Supported
    3DNow!+ Unit : Not Supported

    Host Bridge : 10B9:1621.05 [ALi Aladdin-Pro 2]
    South Bridge : 10B9:1533.B4 [ALi M1533]
    VGA Device : 1002:4742.5C [ATI 3D Rage Pro AGP 1X/2X]
    Memory Size : 64M Byte
    Memory Clock : ----

    OS Version : Windows 98 Version 4.10.1998
    -------------- : -----------------------------------
    StdFunc 0 : 00000002 756E6547 6C65746E 49656E69
    StdFunc 1 : 00000652 00000000 00000000 0183F9FF
    StdFunc 2 : 03020101 00000000 00000000 0C040843
    00000017h : 1000629A 2C0498E5 00000000 00000000
    0000001Bh : 00000000 FEE00100 00000000 00000000
    0000002Ah : 00000000 C5400000 00000000 00000000
    00000119h : 00000000 00000003 00000000 00000000
    0000011Eh : 00000000 01344503 00000000 00000000

    Thank you in advance,

    Dean.
     
  2. mephistopheles

    mephistopheles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you would be well advised to consider buying/building from scratch if you are planning on using a projector for HCPC.

    What to go for will obviously depend on your budget. If you want to try and build your own you will get plenty of help and advice here, and you will have full control over the specification, but it's a pretty steep learning curve. There are, of course, ready built HCPC's with various options, too, but a standard off the shelf PC would need to be modified at least to some extent (for silent running at least usually) to get what you need/want. Some complete systems also come up for sale from time to time in the Classified Ads thread here.

    Let us know your budget and specifically what you want the HCPC to be able to do, whether you want to try DIY or not, and I'm sure ther'll be plenty of suggestions and recommendations.
     
  3. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I aggree with mephistopheles. there is more and more matherial that is coming as downloadable (for example new WMP9 hd-samples or good quality trailers in Quicktime) that require 3.0GHz processor.

    I am building a new PC in preparation for Terminator 2 Extreme Edition. You can find my specs here.
     
  4. dean randle

    dean randle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK (Bromley)
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for your replies guys.
    On a side note, if I just wanted to upgrade the processor to something a bit faster, what are my options? Do I have to upgrade the motherboard, or can I just get a new processor and plug it in?

    Cheers again,
    Dean.
     
  5. mephistopheles

    mephistopheles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as the m/b can handle it, yes, just plug in a faster cpu. You might be able to use a Slot1 to Socket 370 converter and use a Celeron or PIII with it, but it will depend on which m/b you have. Have a look on the m/b manufacturer's website for the cpu support for it.
     
  6. LeadMagnet

    LeadMagnet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was in the same boat as you dean randle, and I checked into a slocket/celeron option for my P2 350Mhz in aIBM PL300 pc. I came to the conclusion that it was not worth it. I had very limited funds to work with so what I did was go to www.pricewatch.com and do a search for " bare bone xp 2200 " and got a great little bare bone system and took my old HD and CD and installed them until I could upgrade them as well. Great performance and it cost me $200 delivered.

    Then when I upgrade the HD and CD-RW I have my old PC back again that I use it as a MP3 / MPEG / Divx / FTP / WEB / Unreal Tournament server.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice