Worth importing Sony DVP-NS900V Progressive Scan?

melvynadam

Standard Member
Reaction score
From what I can fathom, Sony make two versions of this excellent player: one for the US and another for the rest of the world. The US version has progressive scan.
I am a complete novice at home cinema and am researching this kit for my first setup. Does progressive scan make such a difference that I should import the US one? I'll be using it in conjunction with a projector (which accepts prog scan) so I understand that picture imperfections are emphasised even more - should this affect my decision?
Ususally the advice this kind of question receives is "test them out side by side" but obviously, a model only sold in the US is going to be hard to demo!

Depends where yr located?

There is a small av shop in Soho London that stocks US models.

Cant remember the name off me head but I used to have to get all my DVD's from them 4 years ago.

They also have a second shop in Chelsea.

the british ns900 is audio tuned for the uk, it has higher grade components fitted which may or may not matter to you. I hav seen the uk model used with a projector through its component outs onto a large screen and the picture was excellent, I would look to audition this first if I were you.

I wouldn't advise getting the ns900 at all until Sony have managed to produce a version of it without the 4:3 scart switching issue. You'll find a lot of UK resellers, especially online ones, don't have any stock and don't know when Sony will be supplying again.

It's uncertain if Sony can fix this player, they have removed it from their UK and European product webpages.

"Rochdale" I think you might be a little behind the times. I'm only as good as the information I'm given (personally, like I said I'm a novice) but this is a quote from Sevenoaks Sound and Vision when I put the SCART problem to them: