1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worth changing an AE500 for an AE700?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by (GTV)Chris, Jun 25, 2005.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Always wanting to fiddle and change things.
    Will there be a vast difference between my AE500 panny and an AE700?


    Chris
     
  2. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    My mate had a 500 and upgraded to the 700 and thinks its money well spent. The main difference is the black levels on the 700 are far better. If this is a main concern to you then it may be worth upgrading, although I would suggest you make sure you get a model with the latest firmare on (1.07). The other option would be to wait for the next model (900??) to be released, but the problem is as there are no release dates for this you may be waiting a long time. Saying that though you can now pick up a 700 for less than £1000 which i'm sure will be a lot cheaper than the next model out.
     
  3. pjh777

    pjh777
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to hijack the thread but I'm in the same position.

    I have a ceiling mounted ae500, anyone whos upgraded - Will the 700 fit on the existing mounting plate and is the height/throw distance the same? Ie will I just be able to unbolt the 500 and replace it with a 700?

    thanks

    Paul.
     
  4. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Yep I`m in the same boat as well. It looks like they have the same throw using the calculator on Prejector central.
     
  5. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    I believe all the panny's have the same mounting holes.
     
  6. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,871
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
    Although the mounting holes are in the same place the lens throws differently. So you can use your exisiting mount but the projected image will not appear in the same place.

    Regards
    KH
     
  7. pjh777

    pjh777
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So can the AE700 get back the original AE500 picture using its lens adjustment?

    My screen is fairly fixed and I was hoping for a simple unbolt and replace type operation.
     
  8. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I was under the impression they have a very similar if not identical throw distance :confused:
     
  9. fallwood

    fallwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +6
    Changed my 500 for a 700 and it swapped straight over, same mount same screen size same everything , did have to use a bit of lens shift as the centre position was a bit to the left compared with the 500 but nothing drastic. Well worth the updgrade as I was never that happy with the black levels and vb on my 500, once my mate got his 700 it sealed the deal and I upgraded after only having the 500 for 4 months.
     
  10. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    What did you sell your AE500 for.
    I do want an upgrade, the 700 is now £999 with pixel check.
    So you say the black levels are even better?

    If the wife finds out about this she will rip a smile in my throat :eek:

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  11. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    This is a good point. Mine has 1200 hours use in low lamp, its been well looked after. There are a couple of dust blobs but these are easily shifted with a can of air.

    I am thinking of selling for around £375 plus shipping (But rather someone can collect and see it working). This has to be good value for a High Def ready projector with plenty of life in it :confused: THey seem to go for around £600 with low hours (400 or less) on the forum classifieds.

    My main consideration for upgrade is actually the lense shift, I now need to resite my stand due to new seating layout.
     
  12. fallwood

    fallwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +6
    I sold mine with 0 hours on a brand new bulb (replaced by panasonic) for £850, this was last november when the 700 was still £1350 at most places, couldnt tell you what one would be worth now.
     
  13. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    How long do we think we will wait until a new panasonic unit (I assume the AE900). Personally I am a little reluctant to make the switch if I know the new unit will be on its way soon.

    Anyone have any inside news? ;)
     
  14. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    End of this year apparently although any improvements will be minimal by all accounts.
     

Share This Page

Loading...