1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worried about HDTV Sony KDE-P42XS1

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by nonikandola, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    alright fellas new to the forum

    i wanted to get the Sony KDE-P42XS1 before christmas. BUt as it is a big purchase (for me anyways) i was wondering would it be more prudent to get the tellevision in the january sales. I know it is impossible to know weather the item will be reduced but i thought in the light of the Sony KDEP42MRX1 recently being release it to me seems likly.

    also what is the difference between the Sony KDE-P42XS1 and the Sony KDEP42MRX1

    and finally I know this set is HDTV compatable but with no dvi or HDMI inputs what does that really mean.

    i know im pushing my luck but what to you guys think of Sony KDE-P42XS1

    Cheers!!
     
  2. reckless

    reckless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    983
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Not an expert but the XS1 is an alis screen and has a res of 1024*1024. I won't go into what that means as there are great threads on here explaining it in detail: just do a search for alis.

    The mrx1 is a 1024*768 panel with a separate media box with one lead going to the screen.

    It appears from the latest news that sky will only be using HDMI to send HDTV from their next digiboxes to the screen and therefore whilst the screens may be able to display HDTV, you're not going to be able to get a hdtv picture (from sky) into one.

    I find this very annoying as I was just about to buy a Sony but unless anyone here can bring me some good cheer, it seems to be pointless to buy one as 2006 is not that far away.
     
  3. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can u get a hdtv signal with a componant cable ? i looked at some hdtv recivers in the us and they have component output. i hear the difference between dvi and component is neglagable
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    correct but HDMI provides copy protection which is what sky are bothered about... not the PQ do you really think sky care about your PQ...
    FOR HDTV from sky you will need DVi input that is HDCP compliant or HDMI all HDMI inputs should be HDCP as its part of the spec
     
  5. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats the liklyhood of getting sky hdtv via a component cable.
    ie some box of tricks that converts signals
    or a "hdtv digi box with a component out.
    mind sound stupid that but hey i probly am. lol
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    low as component wont support the copy protection (the problems of a pay TV monopoly) FV will probably go that way eventually
     
  7. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    was lookin again for a fully hdtv compatable tv and i found this Pioneer PDP435FDE
    what do you think of it i will be using it for watching football and playing dvds and xbox.
     
  8. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just had a thought about that pioneer tv. how is the tuner box connected to the television. couldnt there be a similar thing for sony or any other tv for that matter comming out near to 2006. i just cant see sky being that dumb to alienate potencial customers and making them buy new televisions.mid you they did with widescreen lol.
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    the pioneer is a good choice for a good Plasma TV that will accept SKY's proposed HD service
     
  10. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so which is better the 1024*1024 or the 1024*768 also does the newer sony have full hdtv compatability (the write protection?)
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    1024x768.......... 1024 x 1024 is ALIS and not actuallly 1024x1024 but 1024x512 and not very compatible with HD depending on the manufacturer
     
  12. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if money wernt an object had you had to chose between the Sony KDE-P42XS1 or the Pioneer PDP435FDE which one would it be.
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    not the XS1 as its alis..... what budget do you have and what do you want to watch? do have or want surround sound want to connect a PC subcribe to sky or cable??? Who will use it?
     
  14. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im gonna be using it for watching sky+ football is very important and i also use an xbox pc connectivity is not an issue.
     
  15. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats the problem with alis?
     
  16. nonikandola

    nonikandola
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry budget is 3.5 4k max
    i got a pioneer ax3 with optical inputs running at 7.1 speaker config
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    them get a Pio MXE1 and Iscan HD or panny PHD7 and Iscan HD £3.5k for the best 42" combo on the planet at that money
     
  18. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +270
    NEC 42XM3 or XR3 and Lumagen VisionDVI for approx £3300.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...