woohoo i can relax now

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by I Am Custard, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. I Am Custard

    I Am Custard
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,866
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +940
    sorry guys just wnted to post how happy i am now to be dual format, no more longing at bluray releases, or wondering if i had backed the wrong horse....best of both worlds...uber

    :)

    HD-E1 + PS3 = HD lovelyness
     
  2. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +9,002
    Nice one!
    Have the Ps3 and the Xe1 myself.Life is sweet.
     
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    welcome to the chill club.
     
  4. irascian

    irascian
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,990
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +302
    Me too. Haven't actually bought the Blu-Ray player yet (still deliberating over which component video "mixer" to get) but have 15 Blu-Ray discs ready and waiting.

    Did you go US or British player? I'm going almost exclusively US imports for HD-DVD (always my preferred format) but for Blu-Ray I've stuck with British, which means the title list is somewhat disappointing compared to the US list. Don't like the way Blu-Ray UK seem to have gone for the fatter cases either. One of the advantages of the new format for me was the fact that the cases took up a lot less room.

    Finding the space to store over 2000 DVDs and then the new British version of the new formats as well is no fun!
     
  5. TrevorS

    TrevorS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +175
    I expect to eventually go dual format as well, but it'll probably be a dual format player that takes me there. I'm not sure yet how far my first generation HD DVD player will carry me (depends on ongoing feature releases, Toshiba's ability to solve existing issues, and their ability to provide clean updates). However, I'm in no rush -- I still consider SD DVD a viable source (also LD and VHS for that matter -- all upscaled of course :)). I have a two year time frame in mind -- will get there eventually :).
     
  6. I Am Custard

    I Am Custard
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,866
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +940

    ****!!!! thats alot of DVD's!!!

    i have a UK PS3, i am gutted about BD use of Region coding. But hey i dont mind, at leat i cna now buy HD (BD) disks from blockbuster!! And buy my import HDDVD's from USA

    oh and the PS3 looks so pwretty lol
     
  7. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    Aren't HD-DVD playersregion-free? So you can buy a UK HD-DVD player and import as you like?
     
  8. I Am Custard

    I Am Custard
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,866
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +940

    Yes. and Yes
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    I've just had the final nail driven into the coffin of my PS3 aspirations, the damn thing interferes with Pronto RF extensions. It freezes RF control on the whole system when it's turned on. I'll be importing one of those Sony players I guess.
     
  10. irascian

    irascian
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,990
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +302
    Isn't that what I said? My player is UK but all (except disks issued as combo's in the US, available as non-combo's in the UK) my HD-DVD disks are US imports. The same is not true of Blu-Ray because I'm stuck with Blu-Ray region encoding for anything from Fox and Sony so I just play safe and only buy UK Blu-Ray titles. I really CAN'T afford a THIRD player just to play US Blu-Ray releases!
     
  11. thornton

    thornton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Just discovered my wife has got me a PS3 for my birthday to go with the E1, so I was chilling out nicely until I read this one. Is it fatal to have one's RF extensions interfered with, let alone frozen? Will my Wi-Fi network go down as well? Will it stop me peeing straight? Please explain so I can invent yet another excuse for an extra piece of AV kit.
    ;)
     
  12. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    ^^^^^^
    Wi-fi should be fine because PS3 has Wi-Fi built in.
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Absolutely, no worries with wi fi, it's the RF extenders for remote controls that have an issue. I have actually cured this one now by moving the Rf extender to about 2m away from the PS3, which fortunately I could do in that installation. All my kit is in one vertical rack, so won't work for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...