1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Woo hoo!!!Got me a Panny PD50 today!!

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Neiliboy, Jul 28, 2005.

  1. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    .....but its still in the back of my car as i'm witing for my Dad to help me to unload it :(

    I'd just like to thank the avforums for helping me make this decision

    Neil
     
  2. nogimmix

    nogimmix
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Kent & Canary Wharf
    Ratings:
    +83
    How much did you pay for it?
     
  3. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    Tell me if the RGB i/p's are OK. I don't know how many people have this problem. Some seem to think it's serious.
     
  4. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry what do you mean by this problem?

    I tested it in the shop (£550 from hyperfi by the way) and it seems pretty damn sexy.

    At the moment i only have it linked with a cheap scart to my sky + box.

    I'll be moving out soon and will invest in proper interconnects soon (recommendations please??? must be cheap)

    HTH

    Neil
     
  5. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    mmmmm......

    guess who's TV doesnt show any 'green' all of a sudden??

    I was testing it this weekend at my Dads and he comes in the the kitchen and says 'Neil - the green gun isnt firing' :(

    The screen is orangy-red. Will call Hyperfi this morning and see what they do about it.

    Neil
     
  6. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is that just via SCART or via the tuner too?
     
  7. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    via the scart linked to my sky+ - i havnt tried its own tuner yet.......you reckon it might be a problem with my Scart Lead? (its only a basic £2.99 jobby)

    Neil
     
  8. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    That would be my fierst port of call, yes!
     
  9. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tested it by plugging it into my normal telly - No problems at all. So its gotta be the Panny :(

    Phoned Hyperfi - they were apologetic, said they had more in stock and to bring it back for a replacement. The only bummer is its a 100 mile round trip for me so i hope this does not happen again :(

    Neil
     
  10. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    I see that you have not read many threads here. The RGB scart i/p's are supposed to be noisy in that (noise) lines appear on the screen. Only happens in RGB signal mode tho' (apparently).


    Anyhow I bought me one of these Panny's the other day, in preference to several other models, and so far I can say that A is okay (other than the exhausted me!). Got meself an extended warranty too (most unlike me) to be on the safe side should anything disastrous happen in the future. Maybe some overscan and slight bowing (4:3 mode) needs attention. Anyone know how to adjust?
     
  11. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks fo rthat Info personyfied.........

    I'm off now to Hyperfi to get it exchanged - I'll test it in the shop to see if its an issue.

    See ya!
     
  12. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    right im back

    tested the telly in the shop - no issues....it was connected to a sont dvd via rGB.......no probs that i could see anyway.

    Again, they were very apologetic, happy to replace it (albeit another graded one) although i did state this time if this one was to go wrong i would not be happy to drive down to London to get it replaced/fixed.
     
  13. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    :smashin: Maybe the problem is fixed or was an isolated problem in the first place.

    Shame you traveled so far for a graded model when you could've picked a new one up for not much more.... have to say I've popped into this shop and not noticed it on display here :( 40 odd mile trip for me :)

    I bought a brand spanking new one with stand for £634
     
  14. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had an initial budget of £500 so £550 was stretching it already! I'm prepared to take the gamble on a graded model as it comes with a 1 yr warranty - I'll probably extend it too.......

    Cheers for your advice so far - i'll let yu know how i get on.....

    Has anyone got any tips for the picture settings on this TV?

    I just have it on 100htz plus and keep playing around with the rest.....

    Neil
     
  15. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    I read a consumer law arcticle recently which stated the retailer should absorb the costs of returning appliances which were faulty like this.
     
  16. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    With the Limited play and time I've had mine I can give you the following information.

    Progressive mode is best left to DVD replay if your machine supports it.

    The difference between 75/833 mode and 100Hz plus mode is not immediatly apparant which is a bit of a downer as I thought 75/833 was gonna be superior. Early days tho' so maybe not noticing differences. However I did notice with Freeview that using 75/833 there was some very noticable pixelation on close up fast moving motion. Noticed this on BBC the other night with the lottery balls (bugger just 6 numbers out again!).

    I find with tweaking Normal and cool colour modes are acceptable. Dynamic is rather to strong in contrast and colour.

    Leave the aspect ratio to 4:3 so broadcasts that do not have the widescreen flag show correctly rather than fullscreen (stretched) mode.

    Big tip! When viewing (or not as the case happens to be) AV modes hold a gun :suicide: to it's CRT so that it automatically switches to the given active i/p! :rotfl: :lesson: that my panny has not yet learn't (it's doomed)
     
  17. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Do a search for "Acuity" on this section of the Forum.

    I did a post 16/05/2004 which you might find useful.

    Good luck. :)
     
  18. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh this is just bloody fantastic *sarcasm*

    I'd never noticed this until watching 'Extras' earlier this evening.

    I get a multi colored, very bright colorful ine right at the very bottom. Its only a milimetre or so thick and only came up during this show and then disappeared...........

    I tried getting rid of it using the 'Geomagnetic' function which tilts the screen but that came to no avail.......

    Anyone know what this is??

    Thanks in advance...

    ps thanks to all the previous posters in this thread - your info has been really useful
     
  19. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump

    can anyone help?

    Perhaps a function in the servcie menu?

    Its becoming slightlly more frequent now and if there is a quick fix in the service menu then I'd rather do that then call up Hyperfi and hasle an engineer to come out.

    Its a red green and blue line at the bottom of the screen about a mm or two thick

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks in advance

    Neil
     
  20. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    Not entirely sure what it is but I get a similiar coloured line at the top of my screen on my old Sony 28" TV. Fortunately only a portion of it shows and generally only watching TV programmes.

    However I recently bought a copy of Digital video essentials and noticed it can be hidden by adjusting the overscan rate. Allowing it to show probably is on the border line of the viewable screen area anyway. I found it was possible to rid of the line at 3% overscan. Pushing it any harder gave same undesirable deflection effects.
     
  21. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope - this TV is definitly going back to the shop...........yesterday i had a n itermittent problem: the green gun is clearly not firing and I'm left with a very red looking screen.......again!

    Theres also no way I'm driving down to London agaion to drop this off. Either Hyperfi fix it or i want my money back

    not happy any more.

    Will look at the Tosh 32ZP48 now

    STill appreciate all yr help on this though
     
  22. hossacd

    hossacd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I would try another scart cable as its seems odd that the green gun has gone on both sets, maybe its a lose connection in the scart cable. The PD30/50 have some common faults but individual gun failure is not something I have read about, also the multi coloured bar is easily removed by setting up the geomerty in the service menu.
     
  23. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I just read your post and went straight downstairs to test it again to double check.

    1. My mistake - The screen is very green - its the red gun that gone. Got confused as the problme was so similar to the last time.

    2. When i turned it on just now it didnt even have the scart connected - so all i got was a snowy picture......this is normally black and white. Just now when i turned it on it was green & white snowy picture thus proving the scart has nowt to do with it.

    I do take your point about the geometery though but that pales into insignificance when up against this problem.

    Neil
     
  24. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    It's looking like you'd be better off getting new. Save some extra pennies. Can't say mine is perfect but none so far the problems you experience. OOPS i've done it now :)
     
  25. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Engineer coming out tomorrow have reprted 3 faults but now a 4th:

    1. Green screen
    2. Text scrolling from left to write 'wobbles' when it goes 2/3 the way across the screen.
    3. Multi coloured random bar occurs at bottom of screen whnever it feels like

    and now the 4th:

    the speaker buzz ever so faintly - only noticable late at night when yr on yr own trying to watch at low volumes but annoying nevertheless.

    Can i just get the engineer to say its a dud and get Hyperfi to replace it for me/refund me? (i'd be happy with either) I bought the first one on the 28th July

    I'll let you know how i get on

    Neil
     
  26. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Engineer said 'The tubes gone'

    He was quite surprised as he hadnt seen many PD50s with faults.

    I had 2 choices

    1. Engineer takes it away to be fixed
    2. Give it back to Hyperfi for a refund

    I'm going with Option 2.

    Called Hyperfi - guy was a bit hesitant about the refund at first and tried to push for me to get it fixed. I told him the engineer even recommended i send it back to which he replied with an ok.

    They wont send a courier to pick it up though which I'm dissapointed with.

    This means my 2nd 100 mile round trip to send this TV back and 3rd in total.

    I will be asking them to compensate me in some way

    Neil
     
  27. petencl

    petencl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Time to change the "woo hoo" to "argh" in thread title perhaps? :(
     
  28. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    well im glad to say the Panny went back today.....

    To be fair the staff were very apolgetic and said it was pretty unusual for this to happen twice - i was just dissapointed they didnt offer me any compensation for 3 half days off work and 3 x 100 mile round trips.......

    however.....

    they did offer me to buy another PD50 'at cost' price which was £400.......i was quite tempted but thought i really cant be arsed with the hassle if it goes wrong again..........

    Instead im going to beg, steal and borrow to try and get a Sony V32 Hi Def now - at least im future proofing.........

    Thanks for all your help guys

    Neil
     
  29. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    just bumping this for Myersfan73 who wanted to know what faults i had

    Neil
     

Share This Page

Loading...