Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Wont we need multiple HDMI inputs???

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by dilsher, Mar 19, 2005.

1. dilsher

dilsher

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok gang..silly q maybe but i am new to this game.

Come the time when we get our new Sky High Definition boxes and we buy a new HD DVD player with HDMI output..will the Plasma displays have more than one input to connewct up both ??? or is it a case of a switcher required???

answers on a very fast postcard please..

regards

Dil

2. Roohster

Roohster
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,791
    I was wondering about this myself.
    Havent seen any screens yet with two HDMI inputs, though when Panasonic sort out their act, we may see an "8 series" with plug in boards, so you can simply buy two HDMI boards.

The new Viera 500 series is allegedly HDMI/HDCP ready but they've only fitted one digital input.

The next generation of amps will have HDMI switching - some expensive models already have.

I'd like to see amps with two HDMI outputs, so you can feed a plasma and a projector...as far as I know no-one is making an HDMI splitter yet.

3. Starburst

Starburst

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +975
    The Philips DFR9000 amp which is mentioned on the front page of the HCC website has two HDMI inputs and a single output which would indicate that there is no technical reason a HD-DVD or Blu-ray device wouldn't also have the facility. Come to think of it recordable Blu-ray must have a HDMI input and a HDMI output so that would be one box taken care of.