Won't this destroy my GPU? HDMI to DVI reduction

empleat

I heard about GPUs being destroyed by supplied DisplayPort cables. I find myself in a situation I need HDMI to DVI, or DP to DVI. Because monitor I have is crap and DVI cable doesn't hold there, it took me 30 minutes to mount it. Nowhere else have this problem, same cable goes to GPU from both sides... I need DP reduction, but with holes in it, so I can connect a cable there!

So far I found only this:
and this:

Both look like total garbage, I don't want to risk my 3070. I Am on 5 streak of faulty components in a row, I Am not letting anything on a chance! I Am not an expert on HDMI cables. I bought certified DP cable e.g. but I don't have any idea, if they have certified HDMI cables too. Also this is reduction, so it probably won't be listed. How do I determine this is safe to use?

That would be huge help ty!

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
Best to provide links to the Graphics Card and Display you are using and indicate the length of HDMI cable and which cable you have installed.

Five faulty components could suggest you have an issue within your system or possibly you have been very unlucky.

Joe

empleat

Monitor: FORIS FG2421 Gaming Monitor | EIZO
GPU: GeForce RTX™ 3070 VENTUS 3X OC
DVI cable type: https://www.computercablestore.com/...254_dvi-d-dual-link-cable-5-meter-164-ft.jpeg

I think it is DVI - Dual Link, I have this cable long time. Not sure model, it was supplied with a monitor. I can't take this cable off, because it is hard to screw it on one side. It took me 30 minutes. If I took it off, I couldn't mount it again! While it went fine to other monitor/GPU from both sides! Length is 2m I think, could be 1.5 - can't measure it exactly!

There are no issues with my system probably - just extreme amount of bad luck!