1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

With powerdvd for people use auto, bob or weave?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Cameron, May 14, 2004.

  1. Cameron

    Cameron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there, when watching movies what setting do people put the deinterlacing on?

    auto, weave or bob?

    thanks

    CaM
     
  2. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,123
    I always set PDVD to weave for movies.

    If you get combing, then set it to bob.

    Auto works OK up to a point, but if you get a badly flagged movie like Titanic or Insurrection, it'll not display correctly and you'll get some very nasty jaggies and the like.

    99% of the time if it's movies you're watching, weave will do the job fine.

    Gary.
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    This is where TheaterTek is great, you can change between these at a press of a button.
     
  4. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    If you have a half decent video card turn on hardware acceleration, and set it to weave for film (as auto doesn't work with hardware acceleration). It'll then do a much better job of scaling and chroma upsampling.
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Yes it does. Although granted it doesn't work as well with PAL
     
  6. beeblebrox12

    beeblebrox12
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am positive that hardware accelleration works with any of the deinterlace settings. "Auto" usually works OK in most cases - i.e it correctly chooses to bob on video and weave on movies.
     
  7. Cameron

    Cameron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there all, thanks for the info. I'll select weave on powerdvd unto further notice :)

    CaM
     
  8. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +66
    :offtopic:

    Unless you need bypass of the analogue streams. In which case TheaterTek is a chocolate teapot.

    :oops: was that a bit harsh - forgive me :lease:

    Just love these new smiles - wanted to use this one :rtfm:
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    What is bypass of the analogue streams? :confused:
     
  10. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +66
    Jeff

    PowerDVD is the one of if not the only software DVD player that can decode DD inc EX and DTS and sends the 5.1,6.1,7.1 to the soundcard.

    No need for a seperate audio processor, if you fancy a MC1 beater, then an RME card and active speakers are the way to go.

    Rgds

    Dave
     
  11. Cameron

    Cameron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep and I have an RME..... :)

    CaM
     
  12. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +66
    CaM

    Nice to see this card getting more popular. I bought the RME last week and am getting some blue sky's soon with the rme ad on card.

    I have read that this is a very decent hi-end solution.

    Rgds

    Dave
     
  13. Cameron

    Cameron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, I love the card. It is the basis for my multi-source/multi-zone sound server. It's just a bonus that I now use it for home cinema as well :)

    CaM
     
  14. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Ah, built in software DD and DTS decoder. Yes, TT doesn't have that yet, maybe in the next version. Does PowerDVD have bass management or are you going for an external BM controller?
     

Share This Page

Loading...