1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiring new sound system

Discussion in 'Portable Disc & Media Players & Recorders' started by window_boy, May 18, 2005.

1. window_boy

window_boy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm quite new to the whole car audio scene, and while I have picked up a fair bit, I am mainly lacking in information concerning wiring the whole lot up.

I'm looking to build myself a sub-enclosure, something a bit different to the norm, and as I'm looking just as much at style and design of the unit as its function, I've deicided on two 10" Sony Xplod subs (the old red model, and please, no arguments over the quality of sony, I have heard some reviews that they work well and I like the style so there you have it), and a couple of 6x9s, still undecided between the old model Sony ones and Alpines SPE-6903.

I'm on a bit of a budget with this system, and so was looking to power the two subs from a single mono amp, was looking at Sony's XM-D1000P5, again for the style, and power the 6x9s from my head unit, stock from a 1999 Fiat Punto SX (old model)

Basically my question is, will my head unit be able to handle the 6x9s, and what sort of wattage can I expect? On that note, the Alpines & Sonys are around the same price, but the Alpines are rated at 150w while the Sonys come in at 250, does the quality of the speaker make a huge difference to its volume?
    And how would this all be wired, could do with some detail :lease: , I'm new to all of thise and have no clue otherwise.
    I have also read of crossovers for splitting frequencies, would I need one?