1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiring help for network wall socket?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by (GTV)Chris, Feb 15, 2004.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Fellas

    need some help punching in t he wires to a network socket.
    I am using the cat5 cable to pipe round audio visual signals aroun the house.
    The cable comes twisted and i was wondering if i need to untwistr them for the socket???
    It has an "A" and a "B" configuration on the socket on one side it looks like this

    1. A green/white B orange /white
    2. A green B orange
    5. A blue/white B blue/white
    4. A Blue B blue

    And on the other side

    6. A orange B green
    3. A orange/white B green/white
    8. A brown B brown
    7. A brown/white B brown/white

    Now obviously this is more sockets than can be filled with 4 twisted pairs....Do I untwist them?
    Any help appreiated.

    Chris
     
  2. Senninha

    Senninha
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +9
    You do need to untwist, but the untwisted sections need to be kept as short as possible.

    There's a good guide here which may help you. I used it to wire my house a while back, but it's so long ago that any advice I gave you from memory would likely be highly dubious indeed!

    http://duxcw.com/digest/Howto/network/cable/index.htm
     
  3. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Wow. That is a brilliant website. Many thanks indeed.
    Just a little note
    I will have to run about 10 meters of cable ouside of the house and pinned agaist the wall....
    Does this really create a problem with lightning etc??

    Chris
     
  4. Senninha

    Senninha
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +9
    Jeez I hope not, as that is how part of mine is done! :D

    I guess in extreme cicumstances it could be, if you are going to place it at a very high point on your house it could be a possible path to ground for lightning, but with trees, other TV aerials around I would think it's highly unlikely.
     
  5. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nice one.
    I am starting it today..... feeling anxious but sod it :)

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  6. Senninha

    Senninha
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +9
    Good luck! Making holes inside the house seems fine, but as soon as I start making holes outside to inside my bottle rather goes too!

    I have aerial, network uplink (hub to hub) and sat cable all running around and into the house. I was worried, but after all neatly done in appropriately coloured cables, trunking, pins etc it all looks very neat.

    Remember to put in drip loops where necessary, fill any holes with sealer and cover with cable entry covers, and I'm sure you'll be very happy with the result.
     
  7. Garysweb

    Garysweb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My freind did that, hid it behind the drainpipe, its fine.
     
  8. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    The only problem with CAT5 outside is that it's not designed for it so over the years it may deteriorate. Not sure how long that would take but a long time. Also, running betwwen two buildings with seperate earths is against building regs (found out to my cost).

    Anyway, I've done it before with no probs so go for it. Make sure to gun some silicone in the hole to seal it up or water will find it's way in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...