Wiring cat 5e in a new build persimmon house

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by CH_2009, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. CH_2009

    CH_2009
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +131
    Hi all,

    I wonder if anyone can help. I've just bought a new onkyo 609 av receiver which has an Ethernet port so I would like to connect it to my router. However, I don't have wired access to my router so I was thinking of running cat 5e up a soil pipe run from the router to the loft ( where I intend getting a patch panel and switch) then running more cable down the external cavity wall ( probably 8 runs for future proofing - amp, Xbox, wii, hdmi over cat 5 etc.)

    1. Can anyone see any obvious problems with this?
    2. Is it likely that an aerial coax cable going to my tv room installed by persimmons electricians would be in conduit or even loose enough that I could pull string/cable through on it as this could also be an option ( I realise no-one will know for sure, just looking for an opinion at this stage)
    3. I was thinking of getting a box of cat 5e from screwfix. Does anyone know if it is any good? I've heard copper cable is better than another type but I don't know enough about the screwfix option.


    I've tried home plugs but these constantly drop out so I definitely want a hard wired solution.

    I'm going to be going up my loft in a couple of days to have a proper look and drop some rods to see of I can get a clear run but just looking for opinions in the meantime.

    By the way, the walls are plaster board!

    Cheers
     
  2. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    eBay for cat5 mate. Average price for a 305m box is £20. Cables cable. Just find a cat5e box and go with it :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  3. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Ah sorry not wishing to hijack your thread .
    So you'd use eBay not a site like CableMonkeys ?
    Cat 5e is Cst 5e right ?
     
  4. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    Hell yeah! Just like you shouldn't pay more than £1 per metre for an HDMI cable! My house is wired in eBay cat5e and 1080p MKVs from server to player has never been a problem!

    I'm an electrician, it's all about the connections :)
     
  5. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,598
    Cat6e same price.
     
  6. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Connections by that you mean baluns/patching/crimping - terminating getting your cabling end to end pairing ?

    I note that cable checkers/testers can be a tad £££ have you got any recommendations re £ not £££ ?
    And
    Really same price nice one?
     
  7. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,598
    Where you based?
     
  8. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    ?
    Unfortunately not near Manchester. However my brother lives in Liverpool.
     
  9. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,598
    Was going to say as I'm in the trade I can get you everything you need & test it at cost. Even install it at extra cost.

    BB
     
  10. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Hmmmm would be great but guessing you don't get down Essex way ;) much ?

    All though the get stuff trade might be nice I could always pop up to see my brother as we owe him a visit ;) ?
     
  11. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    Test & crimp tool -
    http://bit. ly/s7enft (remove space as filter moans!?)
     
  12. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    You sure above, without space is correct ?
     
  13. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    BB3lions - ok I'll get one together and get back to you. Cheers
     
  14. CH_2009

    CH_2009
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +131
    Didn't really answer many of my questions but has made me think about where I get the cat 5 cable. Never really trusted eBay before, anyone know any reputable sellers? I'm now thinking cat 6 if I can get it for around the same price though.

    Am I right in saying I need utp cat 6e cable? Seems to he referred to as Rj45 cable on eBay.

    Anyone any thoughts on me running the cable down external wall cavity? Or whether my existing coax is likely to be a conduit?
     
  15. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,598
    Get cat6 utp, better grade of cable.

    Running it inside the cavity is fine, as long as its temp is kept away from severe cold/heat and wet of course.

    Impossible to say whether your existing is inside containment, can't see it being but,...

    BB
     
  16. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Bare in mind that according to other post I have read on AVF when using cat6 it's not as simple as when using 5e. There are some extra termination considerations too.

    Is that right BB3lions?
     
  17. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,598
    I've worked with the stuff for 15+ years, its not that much different..
     
  18. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    Yup, avforums seems to ****** the address if I have it whole so just remove the space and have a look!
     
  19. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Hi there so this

    http://bit. ly/s7enft

    And just remove the space works ?

    You know tried that late last night and am sure it did not work but oh what a relatively ok nights sleep does for you. It now works. ;).

    So just to check. This is to test RJ45 terminated cable runs ?

    If I wanted to test patch points / baluns / krone sockets I'd just need a straighthrough short cable at each end and plug in and test ? Ie from socket at my router end and then at each point in the house ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2012
  20. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,610
    You get what you pay for:

    Basic cable tested that cost a tenner do little more that loop back each pair in the cable and do a continuity check. You could do the same with a light bulb and a battery.

    More expensive ones add feature such as detecting split/crossed pairs, cable length, etc. etc.

    Really expensive one add a battery of other checks for things such as noise and interference and some will even try talking "ethernet" down the cable to whatever is the other end and see whether that's working.
     
  21. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Yep your right. Perhaps I'll see what's about and what I can get.

    Cheers for the advice.
     
  22. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    It's less than a Tenner! He's not gonna need expensive tools to do a few points around his house! Hell it even comes with the tool to make plugs up! He can make his own short patch leads up and test from that! The kit I listed is what I have/use and whenever I run in cat5/6 cables I test it and use those tools and never had a problem!

    You get get a punch down krone tool for a quid on eBay INCLUDING postage!
     
  23. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Nice. Cheers Jammyb2004
     
  24. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,598
    You could always buy a Dtx for about 5k if you want a proper testing kit & you can print out your results lol.

    £10 ebay mod taps or bog standard tester with a free Krone tool will suffice.

    BB
     
  25. dspit1664

    dspit1664
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,718
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +73
    Lol think for my needs and wallet I'll stick with the £10 jobbie thanks all
     
  26. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +439
    Do you use that tester with Catx cabling installs for paying customers?
     
  27. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +439
    1. Sounds fine. Use solid cored UTP Cat5E (rated to 100m at 1Gb Ethernet) or Cat6 if price is about the same (rated to 100m at 1Gb and 35m at 10Gb) along with matching Catx modules/faceplates/patch panel for the room end and/or the far end. The modules/patch panels use IDCs which need a simple cheap punch down tool to terminate, then buy some short patch leads to connect devices. Don't use plugs because they are usually designed for stranded cable (i.e. patch leads), more difficult/fiddly to terminate. The cheap 'tester' will tell you is the cables are wired correctly (TIA-568B usually) but not if the install is at Cat5e/6 standards (imo overkill for DIY at home unless you can borrow one)

    2. Depends on the installation. Usually they have a capping nailed over the cable with makes pulling new cable though very difficult and will probably need more force than is proper for the Catx cable.

    3. Cat5E/6 UTP solid cored is what you need.

    Have fun...
     
  28. jammyb2004

    jammyb2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    Yup. Brilliant tool for the money really. Why?
     
  29. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +439
    Because, if you are installing Cat5/5e/6 cables, for money I might add, you're not actually proving that the install is to that Cat5/5E/6 standard. The tester isn't a Catx tester it's just a continuity tester.

    I suppose it's akin to saying that as long as a 230V appliance works, or you get 230V on a multimeter, on a new electrical circuit then the circuit is fine even though you haven't tested/confirmed that length of the cable, number of sockets, insulation/safety test etcs. (/limited by my lack of understanding of IEE 17th ed. wiring regs)

    I do agree that for the money, that link is very good value as long as its abilities are taken into account.
     
  30. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,393
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,023
    AVForums.com AVForums rules and conditions of use

    rule 11 is why the shorters wont work
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice