1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless Xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by jimbobaggins, May 29, 2003.

  1. jimbobaggins

    jimbobaggins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Up North
    Ratings:
    +18
    I am looking to make a wireless network using my PC, my laptop and my Xbox and need to use the minimum kit.

    My laptop is a Dell Centrino, so can already do 802.11b.

    Hence I need some kind of device for spreading the broadband around the place. I currently have an Alcatel turqouise broadband flatfish attached by USB to the PC, and I do have a 100 meg network card in the PC, currently unused.

    Any ideas from the geniuses out there?

    Also I would prefer an 802.11g setup, (which will also be compatible with the Dell laptop anyway).
     
  2. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    I wanted to ask almost the exact same question, wanted to know what id need to connect the xbox.
     
  3. jimbobaggins

    jimbobaggins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Up North
    Ratings:
    +18
    I figured a Wireless G router connected to the netwrok card and a wireless G access point for the xbox with an ethernet connection. However, I can;t find anyone who knows if that will work or not and what is the best kit to buy.
     
  4. derekrcross

    derekrcross
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2001
    Messages:
    442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    why G, and which items do you want to be wireless,

    and have you tries searching on the console thread?
     
  6. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,

    My setup:

    Main PC and Webserver PC connected with CAT5 cable to ethernet ports on my Draytek wireless router (basically a router which provides wireless connectvity and adsl modem in one box plus 4 ethernet ports), 802.11b which is fast enough for gaming/home networking.

    XBox connected with CAT5 cable to Linksys wireless/ethernet bridge (essential to make the XBox connect to the wireless router).

    Easy out-the-box installation.

    Main PC, Webserver and Router are upstairs and the XBox/ethernet bridge downstairs.

    You could have the XBox connected with CAT5 to an ethernet port on the router downstairs, with any other PCs connecting via wireless to the router.

    either of these configurations will be fine for XBox Live, the second option will not work with XBConnect if you intend to use that also.

    Hope this helps

    Mike
     
  7. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    mikeq

    I think the second option made sense to me, but im lost on the first method :confused: :p
     
  8. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Geezer,

    Which bit didn't make sense?

    Mike
     
  9. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have inserted a link to a picture that hopefully explains it a bit better. As the XBox only has an ethernet port the wireless/ethernet bridge is needed to convert the XBox network traffic to wireless and vice versa.[​IMG]
     
  10. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Right that makes a bit more sense to me, but for me the router cannot be near the pc so all of it must be wireless.

    so i need wireless cards for the pc and laptop then?

    and the ethernet bridge is all i need or the xbox? :confused:
     
  11. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you intend to plug the XBox (CAT5) directly into the router? If so then all you need in your PCs are the wireless network cards.

    If you can't have the XBox or the PCs near the router then you will need the wireless/ethernet bridge for the XBox and wireless cards for your PCs.

    Mike
     
  12. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    I could possibly plug the xbox directly into the router, as its in the same room as the phone socket. Although its not that near it.

    how much is the wireless/ethernet bridge roughly
    and the wireless cards?

    thanks for answering my questions :smashin:

    im dreading setting it all up though :confused:

    and still havent looked into an isp :D
     
  13. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Look for WET11 from Linksys, I use it with my xbox and my PS-2 works perfectly, cost about 80 quid.
     
  14. colesy

    colesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm on NTL broadband and use all linksys wireless products.
    I can highly recommend them.
    I bought my bit and pieces from dabs.com and they quite cheap. There are other retailers out there that stock them.
    If you do a search for linksys on this forum, you will find some good threads.
    Good luck
     
  15. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    as Neil mentioned the WET11 is about £80 (this is the wireless/ethernet bridge I have), cheaper getting a long CAT5 cable I would suggest. There is a limit on the length of CAT5 but it is something like 100m, so you should be alright.

    Wireless cards I think are in the region of £30-£60 and I think you can get some which are USB devices, no need to open up your PC to fit it.

    Setting it all up is generally a doddle, all of my stuff worked out-the-box. But if you get stuck there is plenty help here.

    Just one other thing, do you intend to use XBConnect?

    Mike
     
  16. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Dont know what it is mate :confused:
     
  17. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh okay, you probably wont want to use it then.

    It is a bit of free software which would run on your PC and allow your XBox to connect to other users over the Internet, basically tricks your XBox into think others are linking directly to your XBox with link cables.

    You can play games like Halo etc with this.

    However, I have tried it in a scenario where the PC and the XBox are both wireless and it doesn't work, the PC had to be wired into the router. Because of this I'm pretty sure that if the XBox was wired into the router and PC was wireless it still would not work.

    Just making you aware of a potential problem by choosing to go a certain route. If you have no intention of using XBConnect then your chosen solution will be okay.

    Mike
     
  18. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Huh :confused:

    isnt that what live is for? sorry dont quite get what you mean, you can play Halo on live right.
     
  19. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope you can't play Halo on Live, Halo 2 will be Live enabled.

    Mike
     
  20. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    Oh ok would want Xbox connect then.

    I would want to beable to play halo.
     
  21. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    What to i need to use Xbox connect.
     
  22. savage

    savage
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you sure you need to mate ?

    Halo as a stand alone game is fantastic by the time you finish it Halo 2 will be out (well mabye not that soon) but that will be live enabled so you wont need XBox connect .

    Just the normal Live set up would be cool
     
  23. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download this software

    To make this work you need to run a PC as well as your XBox, therefore it will need to go through a router or Internet Connection Sharing (ICS).

    I have tried this with a wireless laptop and a wireless XBox and it doesn't work, so I don't think a wired XBox and a wireless PC will work but not sure as I haven't tried it. But you've got nothing to lose as the XBConnect software is free so you can test it out with the setup you propose.

    For it to be guaranteed to work a wired PC and a wireless XBox does work.

    As Savage said are you sure you need it, just get yourself Ghost Recon or Castle Wolfenstein and wait for Halo 2.

    Mike
     
  24. Geezer

    Geezer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +25
    But ive finished Halo already.

    May just get rtcw like Mike suggests.
     
  25. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Interesting,this is what i want to do too.X-box downstairs,p.c. up stairs.
    Question? on the p.c. i have a speedtouch510iv.4,can i buy two wireless bridge things,plug one into router and one into x-box or do i need a wireless router?

    Phil
     

Share This Page

Loading...