1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless router recommendations for Xbox Live

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Munkey Boy, Oct 9, 2004.

  1. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,559
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,340
    Can anyone in here recommend me a 54MBps (G rated) wireless router I can use on Live without restriction? I have a Netgear WGR614 at the moment, but it is rated as "strict", and I'd like to upgrade to one I can use without compatability problems, ie. rated as "open" on Live. At the moment, I cannot go into some peoples rooms or if I can they are muted to me. V annoying.

    I have my eyes on the Linksys WRT54G but I'd like confirmation it's rated as "open" on Live first. If anyone here has one, can they confirm they get an NT setting of "1" setting in the dashboard (Settings>Network Settings>Connect>Press Y on controller>Press A on controller). If anyone doesn't undersand what the hell I'm going on about, check out this useful page on the Xbox site which explains about whether your router is Open, Moderate or Strict. This would appear to be the source of many compatability problems on Live.
     
  2. mr ooops

    mr ooops
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Hardwicke and Wotton
    Ratings:
    +353
    toysrus of all places have started doing network stufff, i picked up a cable braodband wireless router and a wireless bridge for £100 works great, i seem to get less lag now then when i had a 50 foot cable. they also do an adsl version but is 20 quid more.
    it worked straight out of the box installed one driver for the router and had it set up and runnig within 10 mins
     
  3. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,559
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,340
    Have you a make/model number? Is it listed as open for Live?
     
  4. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I use Linksys 54G kit for live (Loft) And Laptop (Kitchen / Lounge / dinning room). Router is on second floor. Its great the range is unbelievable. I can use my laptop on the web at the road, at least 100m from the Wireless Router !

    Got my stuff from Amazon, its cheap enough.

    Word to the wise, I didnt find it particullarly easy to setup Xbox live with a wireless bridge.
     
  5. Waser

    Waser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    984
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Purley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +57
    If memory serves me right Microsoft released an Xbox compatible ethernet bridge that will save you having to fiddle with the settings. I use a D-Link DI-614 wireless router and a D-Link wireless ethernet bridge DWL-810+. The following link tells you how to get it Xbox compatible. I have had no real probs connecting with this setup.

    http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=1277
     
  6. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,559
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,340
    Well, I went and bought it anyway. I can confirm the Linksys WRT54G is "open" for Xbox Live, and hopefully all my previous problems will go away.
     
  7. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    Suppose the other option is to make a DMZ on Your Router for your Xbox this solved my nats problem and brought my connectivety back down to 1
     
  8. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,559
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,340
    Yeah - I tried that but still got a 3 rating, but I'm no networking expert, so maybe I'd not done it quite right? Couldn't work it out.

    Anyways, the Linksys router just gave me a 1 rating straight off though, no messing about. Wish I'd have known about it sooner...
     
  9. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Sorry I missed the bit in you first post about the compatability issue :blush: The Linksys 54g stuff works fine with live and they will support it as welll if you have difficulties.
     
  10. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    This is how I was told how to do it its soo simple I felt like a right dumb arse after

    so find your DMZ section on router
    turn on the Xbox and go to where the ip address for Xbox is
    then put this ip address in the DMZ ip address
    and save and reboot the router
    Job done

    Told you it was simple
     

Share This Page

Loading...