1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless Network PCMCIA Card

Discussion in 'Shopping, Deals, Discounts & Bargains' started by petrolhead, Jan 16, 2004.

  1. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,780
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +116
    Have just bought one of these from Maplin Electronics for £12.99

    A real bargain and works well.

    Copy the heading and paste into Maplins search
     
  2. coolio

    coolio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Great spot, Im assuming this will be fine for a laptop?
     
  3. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,780
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +116
    Thats what i using mine in.
     
  4. coolio

    coolio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    ok, cheers gone for one, fed up of waiting a month for ebuyer to ship me one
     
  5. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,780
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +116
    Worth it, you will not be disapointed :)
     
  6. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    21,872
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,299
    Picked one of these up today, seems to be picking up the wireless signal from my Netgear router but I can't get any internet pages up, just says 'The page cannot be displayed' . I can't figure out for the life of me why, any ideas?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  7. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,780
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +116
    Can you ping the router?

    Can you see a shared folder?

    Have you setup DHCP on your router or using static IP addressing and therefore have a gateway address pointing at the router.

    Otherwise havn't a clue
     
  8. jaygee

    jaygee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    I bought one yesterday as well to link up with a Netgear WGR614 router.

    Nice Orange box, well packed but no driver CD. Not a problem as the drivers and setup were available at their website.

    No connection problems after installing on my laptop. Have you set encrytion on your router? If so, check you have entered the string correctly on the PCMIA card driver as well as the encryption level. The Netgear drivers allows you to use a passphrase whereas the Binatone involves typing them in. All other settings were default.

    I'm using this to replace a NetGear USB MA111 wireless connector. The card now even picks up one of my neighbours wireless networks whereas the USB connector didn't!
     
  9. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    21,872
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,299
    Hi,
    I haven't got WEP enabled so it's nothing to do with that. I tried a netgear MA111 on the laptop tonight and that worked straightaway. Can't get the PCMIA card to work though, it connects and shows a signal but I get nothing in Internet explorer (can't understand why the Netgear MA111 works and this doesn't!).

    Ta for the suggestions anyway

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  10. Tim Ashdown

    Tim Ashdown
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi people. What I know about networking you could write on the back of a stamp, but I think I'll get one anyway:rolleyes: :D .
    I have a desktop and a laptop that I want to be able to share files with. The desktop also has a printer connected to it, that I want the laptop to be able to print from (I take it, the desktop will still need to be switched on). They each have a broadband connection which I want to keep seperate. If I buy one of these cards and fit one of these:- http://www.expansys.com/product.asp?code=107339

    will I be able to do everything I just said? Or is there a better alternative than the one in the link above (better could also mean cheaper ;) ). Does having two pcs networked together affect the performance of either machine? please help me guys, before I spend money I haven't got on something that won't work! Thanks
     
  11. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    21,872
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,299
    Worked out why this wasn't working. I'd set my router up to only allow wireless access by 'trusted' pcs. I just had to add the mac address of the card to the list of trusted PCs and hey presto it worked. Felt a right plonker when I worked out what was wrong!

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  12. NewsgroupMonkey

    NewsgroupMonkey

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    South Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately this deal is now over (It finished last night at 18:00 which is typical as I was in the shop about 17:30 and forgot)

    Anyway, Ebuyer have one Here for £12.34

    Just make sure that you read the reviews (ie. where to get the drivers that work properly) before you try and install it
     

Share This Page

Loading...