Wireless Media Player with HDMI

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by ColdKilla, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. ColdKilla

    ColdKilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +19
    Does such a thing exist? I was tempted by the pinnacle system until i discovered it doesnt have DVI or HDMI connections on it!

    CK
     
  2. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,046
    not yet. They need to sort out a wireless/home network standard that is secure enough.

    Problem is that HDCP is tightly protected, stopping you from simply recording the bitstream coming out. All links in the chain are tightly controlled.

    with a wireless device, thats much less controllable, as by definition the bitstream needs to be broadcast over the air. Even wired network woudl be an issue.
     
  3. Tarbat

    Tarbat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Easter Ross, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +251
    You could get an imported LinkPlayer 2 from Japan - http://www.virginpulse.co.uk/catalo...id/34?osCsid=28f79724b72ce03404251d3a771df062

    But suggest you research the firmware situation carefully.

    I'd also question how useful DVI or HDMI really is, rather than using component. Ater all, there's no HDCP to worry about.
     
  4. ErikX

    ErikX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    DVI is far better quality then component
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice