wireless adapter help?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by kaisersozeuk, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. kaisersozeuk

    kaisersozeuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,

    Bought a wireless adapte tonight to replace my current wonderful set up of a 15m crossover cable, don't ask ;)

    Anyhow, set up seemed very simple, attached the adapter, entered the relevant information, but it seems to be failing the test scripts saying it's not connected to my network.

    What I find strange though is that when I go to the system blade, then select network settings and select the wireless tab, it has picked up the network and it displays that it is connected to the network? Yet, it somehow fails the media and live tests?

    The implementation seems so simple in it's process, but I don't have anything interfering with it?

    Does anyone have any ideas what's going on. I do have a relatively old belkin modem/router, but I'm sure that isn't at fault

    Cheers

    Kaiser
     
  2. DIRY

    DIRY
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    how locked down is your wireless network?

    WEP Keys / MAC Addresses?

    If you go to your router config screen (PC browser to it usually I think - possibly on http://198.1.1.1) you might be able to see the 360 trying to connect, and the reason for it not doing :)

    HTH!
     
  3. kaisersozeuk

    kaisersozeuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi

    It's WEP protected and was happy to accept the relevant key, just checked the log file and it seems okay there's nothing out of the ordinary in there

    Cheers

    Darren
     
  4. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    Is your PC picking up the IP of the Xbox 360 just to check.
     
  5. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,083
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,351
    had a similier problem matey. double check that u have put the 360 ip into the trusted zone of ur firwal (i was using zone alarm and had to put it into trusted zone, and turn quite a few settings down)
     
  6. FlawlessAbyss

    FlawlessAbyss
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    It sounds like a firewall issue. If 198.1.1.1 doesn't work, try 198.0.0.1 or 193.0.0.1.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    exactly what live / network test fails?
     
  8. ukkev2000

    ukkev2000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,027
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +51
    Well it's found your network..but can't get out of it.

    My guess is that you have NAT turned on and you need to set the ports LIVE uses to be "forwarded". (NAT is kinda like a firewall)

    Well, that's what it was with my router anyhow.

    Other things to try are... can your 360 see your PC? There's an option to look for your computer on the Media blade.

    It's down to luck - some routers work flawlessly with the 360 and don't take any fiddling around, others, like yours and mine, require mucho gnashing of teeth. :rolleyes:

    Well, I say luck - the xbox site does list ones that are recommended. It also has the port numbers you need to add to your NAT configuration.

    Then just hope you don't get the continual "disconnected from LIVE" messages I get :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...