Wireless Adapter as Access Point Help

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by adda, Jan 3, 2007.

1. adda

adda

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi, I have a spare wireless usb adapter that I thought I would try and set up at work as a Wireless Access point the same way the nintendo usb thing works. I wasnt sure whether it was possible and I am no expert but after a bit of searching and askin an IT mate who was also dubious at first I have got to the point where the ds is recognising the adapter as an access point but Im getting an error actually connecting. This is the article I followed to get me to this stage.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/expert/bowman_02april08.mspx
    After following the setup yesterday i am now having trouble making the adapter "active" again and its status is showin greyed out.

Has anyone else tried to do this and had any success? I'm sure there are a few of us that would find this quite handy.

On another note, if I can get this working and then use the opera browser do you think the ds would bypass the works security settings (websense) closing off about 80% of the internet?

Cheers for any help, thoughts, tips :)

2. INSOMANiAC

INSOMANiAC
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +73
    I dont knopw about all that but if i unplug my official nintendo dongle, it too greys out and is unusable until i reinstall it.

3. adda

adda

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    cheers mate, ive just tried it again, deleted all settings in the wifi set up, looked for access point, the ds finds it but then cannot connect and the wireless network shows as not connected. i think it is "enabled" but something is not right with the connection settings.
    got error code 51300 but cant check it at work :(

thanks anyway

4. INSOMANiAC

INSOMANiAC
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +73