1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wired network without demolishing your walls!

Discussion in 'TVs' started by evolution400, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
  2. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    link seems to be broken. is it the powerline LAN thingy?
     
  3. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    try it again.
    yep thats it.
     
  4. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    I've heard of plenty of people streaming hidef over wireless so if this even comes close to its claimed bitrate it should be fine. just one thing would worry me though is whether its a good idea having high frequency "noise" added to your power lines, wouldn't this impact on sound quality? - this is purely conjecture though so may not be a real world consideration.
     
  5. vgrade100

    vgrade100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi ,

    The new 85mbps devolo powerline kit is fine for SD IPTV. I use it to stream TV caputred from my SKy box around the house using SageTV.

    Make sure you download the latest firmware as these units gave poor performance with the above setup until flashed.

    TTFN martin
     
  6. Trumper1

    Trumper1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +6
    I use the high speed one for my network and they are really very good, much more stable than wireless. I did drop one which now doesn't work. Can you explain the Sage TV thing pls? This allows you to stream content to other pc's ? other TV's?
     
  7. LEEMJONES

    LEEMJONES
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    IVe been using the Netgear DG834GT 108Mbps Wireless Router with the WG111T USB adapter and I have never had any problems with it. Got it from PCWorld for £79 so couldnt really moan. I know you not wanting Wireless but I never had anything less than 87% signal strength and ALWAYS connect at 108mbs. If its not what your after then atleast I let you know.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    The problem with the netgear and dlink 108mb is that your restricted to channel 6 for 108mb you may be able to connect on other channels at 108mb but in actual fact your not it just says that you are.
    Channel 6 is too saturated in my area so I use a usrobotics system which is 125mb on any channel which is far more robust but as with any WIFI system you will occasionally get interference which is why I am entertaining this DLAN option.
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Trouble is, all these devices use the words "up to" xxxmbps. I have a wireless link in my house which is "up to" 108mbs, but once the signal has been through a couple of brick walls, it barely manages 11mbps. I would hope that these plug-in gadgets would cope a bit better, but they still use the words "up to".
     
  10. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    I have the belkin pre-N mimo kit. Very nice, and doesn't get as affected by a mixed G/b network (handy as my printer is 'b')

    But I still only get a real world 30-40mb out of it. And thats one of the best wireless solutions around.
     

Share This Page

Loading...