Wired Ethernet Connection

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by x2srj, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. x2srj

    x2srj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

    I have an issue where I want to use a wired connection when it PS3 mode.

    At present I have a crossover cable running from my router which when running in YDL (yellow dog linux) gives me internet connection.

    But when I'm in PS3 mode I can't see anything and TEST CONNECTION fails to bring back an IP. I can see and connect to it via wireless but I'd much prefer to be constantly wired :)

    Also can I stream music/movies in PS3 mode over my network if they're the correct format? IE share my network drives?

    Many Thanks
     
  2. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I'm not sure but it's possible that when in it's native mode the PS3 only recognises a standard straight through ethernet cable.

    Regards the streaming I think there is software you can install on a PC that allows you to do this but I believe it doesn't work all that well and the file formats the PS3 can recognise is quite limited anyway. I'm not sure about using Linux on the PS3 in this way though as I have no knowledge of that.

    Hopefully someone else can be of more help here.
     
  3. bu5ter

    bu5ter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Egham
    Ratings:
    +116
    You shouldnt be using a crossover cable anyway between a router and the ps3 it should be a straight through cable!!!
     
  4. x2srj

    x2srj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    Even if I'm using Linux mode? I did run and normal (albeit CAT6) that wasn't a crossover from router to PS3 and it didn't seem to work; maybe it was the cable?

    I'll re-crimp it back to normal :)

    So can we stream anything from PC at present through the PS3 OS?
     
  5. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    He's right - you should be using a patch cable from router to PS3.
     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    No.
     

Share This Page

Loading...