1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WinMCE to Toshiba LCD - best connection method?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Snash, Sep 6, 2005.

  1. Snash

    Snash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having now completed my MCE setup I've got a cast iron excuse to go out and get a new TV - LCD of course ;)

    I've settled on the Toshiba 27WL56 and was wondering what the best connection method would be from my Connect3D 9600 card (VGA, DVI, S-VID) to the Toshiba TV: (connections from Toshiba website)

    Connections

    Fixed audio output
    HDMI
    Headphone
    PC compatible
    SCART: 2
    Composite video
    S-video
    RGB: 1

    Other specs:

    Visible screen size (cm): 68
    Screen format: 16:9
    LCD panel
    Screen Brightness (cd/m2): 500
    Contrast ratio: 900:1
    Resolution (pixels): 1280x720
    Resolution (row): WXGA


    Any thoughts? This is all a bit new to me so any input would be gratefully received.

    PS first post, great forums :)
     
  2. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +490
    Get a DVI to HDMI cable.
     
  3. hutters

    hutters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Seconded.

    The picture I get on my plasma from my freeview tuner cards (Black Gold) by DVI > HDMI is streets ahead of my old NTL digital via RGB to component.
     
  4. Snash

    Snash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers folks. Hutters it's the Black Gold freeviews I have in my system so I'm pleased to hear they work great:)

    What do you recommend for audio? I don't intend to use amps or anything. :confused:
     
  5. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just connect the Line Out from the Sound Card to the PC sound in on the tele.
     
  6. Snash

    Snash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    As simple as that? Cheers folks for your help:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...