windows xp safe mode

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by gpa, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. gpa

    gpa
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +308
    Ok my PC has gone tits up thanks to NORTON go back, it tells me there is a problem,asks me to hit space bar to repair, then hangs enventually rebooting with error.

    I am trying to get into safe mode, but not having much luck. i am hitting F8 but all I get is a dos screen asking where would i like to boot from(ie boot from hdd,floppy,cd, ect. All the research suggests I am doing things in the right order but i am buggered if i can get it to work.


    Any experts out there, can you help Please!!!!!!!!1:thumbsup:
     
  2. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Looks like your F8 is for your boot order. Try hitting F5 instead of F8.
     
  3. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,212
    alternatively, wait a bit longer before hitting f8.

    You don't need it held down until after the pc has started booting from the HDD..


    F8 for boot device selection.... what make PC is that on out of interest?
     
  4. PlexShaw

    PlexShaw
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,811
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +538
    Agreed. You usually have to wait and do it just before the Windows XP splash screen appears.
     
  5. gpa

    gpa
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +308
    Thanks for the replys guys, I have tried waiting till after the bios loads, before it and all other combo's no luck. F5 takes it to Bios. Just driving me made at the moment, bloody Norton. Is it poss to create a boot disc from another PC running the same operating system? and then boot from that?
     
  6. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Thats strange :\ Try all the F keys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice