Windows XP pro new hardware wizard problems

S

swissjazz

Guest
I've had this problem for a long time but it's getting worse. Whenever I connect a USB flash drive to my computer, the new hardware wizard (windows xp pro) pops up and asks me to go through finding a driver over the web. If I cancel this, the flash drive won't show up. Even if I go through the whole procedure, which takes a very long time, it keeps poping up asking me to do the same thing again several times (I can then cancel this and the drive will still show up). Recently, my computer crashed while I was in ImageJ, and some pop up then suggested to me to download my newest graphic driver up date (Intel R 82852/82855 GM/GME) - which I did. Now, everytime windows starts up, the new hardware wizard comes up suggesting I have installed a new monitor. I can cancel this, but it will continue to pop up a few more times. Does anyone know what might be going on - and is there anything I can do about it???:confused:
 
S

swissjazz

Guest
Unfortunately it doesn't give me the option "don't ask me about it again"...
 
Could have a corrupt driver on the system. Boot into safe mode and remove your drivers from that. Any new driver remove them and reboot. :smashin:
 

Singh400

Distinguished Member
Unfortunately it doesn't give me the option "don't ask me about it again"...
I'm recalled that from memory, I'm sure you have an option something like that.

Maybe not. I'll see if I can force it to popup.

Edit* Yeah it's at the end of the wizard. Select the option "Don't prompt me again to install this software"
 
S

swissjazz

Guest
I've just tried again, and it definitely doesn't give me the "Don't prompt me again to install this software" option - at any point. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I've had a pretty close look. All it does is ask me if I want to connect to Internet to find software (Options: yes - only today; yes - and every time; no). If I go yes, it searches for ages, then eventually comes up with a window asking me if I want to progress although the software doesn't have the microsoft tick of approval, then apparently backs up a system restore point and then finally finishes on a window telling me the software has been installed - and the only option I get is to click onto finish. That's it. If I take the no option, it goes straight to the backup for system restore step and the same from there on.
 

The latest video from AVForums

Movies Podcast: Star Trek in 4K. Is the new boxset worth it?
Subscribe to our YouTube channel
Support AVForums with Patreon

Top Bottom