1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows xp compatability

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Vection, Mar 28, 2004.

  1. Vection

    Vection
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Over there!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    does anyone know how to make XP more compatable with 'old' games? I bought the original comand & conquer and quake 2 but they wont run in XP. I'm asuming its because they are 16bit games. I've tried the built in xp compatability settings with no luck.suicide:

    Are there any windows 98 emulators for xp? I hate mucking around with dual boot systems they always seem to be more trouble than they are worth.

    I've got loads of old games that wont play, any ideas.......?

    :(
    cheers
     
  2. PLASTICTAFF

    PLASTICTAFF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If i remember correctly 95 and 98,98se were dos based OS
    ME,2000,XP aren't.
    I think direct x 7 and below are dos based drivers whereas 8 and above arn't.
    So if your trying to use a dos based driver set on a non dos based OS you'll get some....issues.
    Try uninstalling 9. whatever dx version you have and using the version that comes with the game!
    I'm sure i read this somewhere.......try it...but dont qote me :)
     
  3. Solar

    Solar
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +477
    i havent had a problem running those 2 games !
    try the official sites to see if there is any patches
     
  4. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    Trying to uninstall DirectX is an absolute nightmare at the best of times. To the best of my knowledge, a complete fresh install of Windows is the only way to do it properly. And windows XP comes with DirectX 8 (I think, or it may be 9) as standard, so I don't think it's a viable option. I may be wrong though...
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,358
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,017
    I think there is a way you can force older games to run, I have it wrote do somewhere but do not where I will have to have a look if someone does not answer in the mean time.
     
  6. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Quake 2 is for windows and should therefore have no problems, maybe you have a config problem, command & conquer should work if you use a soundblaster/adlib sound emulator
     
  7. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Is there not a compatabilty option on XP to run older programmes simulating 95/98/me etc?
    I've got a very old game running ok just now on my XP machine whose name escapes me just now , like Dungeon Master set in Waterdeep.....nope it's gone...it's a dos game and didn't need tweaking or anything.

    Panic
     
  8. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    31,358
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,017
    Waterdeep was in Dungeon Keeper wasn’t it?
     
  9. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    If you're trying to run DOS games, I'd recommend downloading the excellent VDMSound, which provides Soundblaster/Adlib + low-level CD-ROM emulation for Windows 2K + XP. It's not too complicated to use (provided you know a bit about how DOS works), and is remarkably effective. Best of all, it's free!
     
  10. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Nah , Dungeon Keeper was just a made up place wasn't it.
    It's not Bards Tale , Dungeon Master or Black Crypt. You make up a party of 4 , it's quite colourful....grrrrr....i just cant't get the title in my head.:mad:
    It'll come.

    Panic
     
  11. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Eye of the Beholder ! :smashin: :D
    Old Dos game but runs ok in XP , must just be certain old Dos games that have problems.

    Panic
     
  12. GJC

    GJC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +65
    Right click on the programs shortcut, select
    properties /
    Compatibility /

    Tick the box that says ' Run this program in compatibility mode for ' and select the appropriate operating system.

    Run the program and hopefully it should work!

    All the best!
     
  13. jelly

    jelly
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    where can i get some better screensavers on xp as the ones ive got are crud
     
  14. Solar

    Solar
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +477
    wouldnt you rather just turn the monitor off and save on your electricity bill ? :D
     
  15. jelly

    jelly
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    actually i meant backgrounds;D
     
  16. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    I just downloaded the matrix screensaver after watching the new dvd last night on www.thematrix.com
    Only any good if your a Matrix fan though.
     
  17. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Jelly , seeing as you posted i min before me let me just say , as above but download backgrounds instead of screensaver :)
     
  18. Vection

    Vection
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Over there!
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've messed around with the compatability setting in windows but with no luck. I get a dialog box that tells me there was a problem with the dynamic entry link. I've got no Idea what this is or how to resolve it.
    I got quake 2 working, more by luck than knowlwdge but the others still wont run.
     

Share This Page

Loading...