windows update problem

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Giraffe76, May 21, 2016.

  1. Giraffe76

    Giraffe76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi all,

    Ive tried to search for any windows updates but i get a message saying that i need to restart my computer to finish installing previous updates so i did a restart,logged backed in but got the same message when trying to search for any updates again.

    Ive ran the windows update diagnostic tool and it said it fixed 3 problems but im still getting the error message.

    i did notice in the updates history that there are 6 updates that failed and havent been sucessfully installed so i dont know if that will effect this error?

    Whats happened and what am i doing wrong?

    Any help and advice would be much appreciated

    Kind regards Mark
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    23,987
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,080
    Those 6 updates, have you tried manually installing them? If you search for them on MS site and manually download and install that might work.
     
  3. Giraffe76

    Giraffe76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +16
    Ive tried doing what you suggested but they are already installed.

    Can you suggest anything else?
     
  4. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    23,987
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,080
    Sorry, I thought you said they were showing as not successfully installed?
    Is it still showing that but saying they are installed when you try and install them again?
     
  5. Giraffe76

    Giraffe76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes they show as failed but as i said when trying to install them manually it says they are already installed even though when i looked through the installed history i cant find them listed as installed.
     
  6. icemanfrosty

    icemanfrosty
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tewkesbury
    Ratings:
    +22
  7. Giraffe76

    Giraffe76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +16
    Ive followed the directions on that link but it didnt work.
     
  8. Giraffe76

    Giraffe76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi all,

    I was advised to download and run a program from tweaking.com called repair windows and ive gone through each step and its solved the program.

    Thank you to everyone who suggested possible solutions

    Kind regards Mark
     
  9. Giraffe76

    Giraffe76
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi all,

    Im afraid that despite me running the specified program twice and seemingly sorting out the prioblem..it has returned this morning again.. so any further help or advice would be much appreciated
     
  10. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,849
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +515
    Right click your main windows drive (usually C: ) and choose properties. Then do the Disk Cleanup tool, once that scans, do the System files option, it re-scans, select all the options (which will include Windows Update clean up). Let it do it's thing. Reboot. Wait for the cleanup to finish on restart. Then do a normal windows update check again and see if it behaves.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice