1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Service Packs needed for IPOD???

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by adrian3221, Mar 15, 2005.

Tags:
  1. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    I've got Windows XP Pro on my PC at home and have recently decided to get the new Mini Ipod. I have been told that you need to have either Service Pack 1 or 2 installed on your PC for it to work. Can anybody with an IPOD confirm or deny this? Thanks. PS: I cant install either service pack on my pc :rolleyes:
     
  2. jinky32

    jinky32
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    hi, i also may have issues about putting sp1 or 2 on my pc, and yes it is poss that your ipod mini will require it.

    i recently tried to instal the latest ipod updater and it totally (slight, ok, massive, exaggeration) wrecked my pc.
    can you get hold of an earlier version of ipod mini software that doesn't require sp2? surely an older version of iTunes will suffice?
     
  3. nokiauk

    nokiauk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    873
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +47
    silly question but what is wrong with SP1 or SP2 that you can't install it?

    I have used many PC's with either or both SP's and report no problems with either.

    the ipod update definatly requires SP2
     
  4. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +509
    nothing wrong with SP2 and my ipod.

    uses may have a problem if they dont have a legit verison of Windows Xp that cant be updated to SP1 or SP2.
     
  5. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    :rolleyes:
     
  6. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +509
    just giving an honest answer fella....
     
  7. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It won't be the iPod that needs SP1 or SP2, it will be iTunes. You could download iTunes before you buy the iPod to see if it'll work though - it's a free download:

    http://www.apple.com/itunes/
     
  8. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42

    Cheers, Itunes downloaded fine. I suppose if the worst comes to the worst, just have to BUY XP! :smashin:
     
  9. Ify

    Ify
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    I am thinking of buying a 30gig ipod Video. However, I only have the original version of of USB (not 2.0) and I don't have any Service Packs instaled. Will I still be able to use an ipod? I understand transferring of files will be very slow, but will I still be able to use the thing? Cheers.
     
  10. extremelydodgy

    extremelydodgy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    All you have to do is to run Windows Update to get the service packs. And as for transfer, yes it'll be slow but it will work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...