1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Media Player v10 - Available

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by MikeTV, Sep 5, 2004.

  1. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    Windows Media Player 10
    I have downloaded this myself, and it seems pretty similar to WMP9, other than:

    - changes to the look and feel
    - additions for media downloads/purchases
    - better syncing with media devices
    - support for custom aspect ratios. Finally!

    You can configure it for non-square pixel ratios, which could be very helpful to a number of HTPC users.

    (also I found that 720p hidef material is playable on my PC without stutters, but that may be unrelated/coincidence)
     
  2. Del

    Del
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +14
    You'll also notice that you can rip cd's as mp3 files without 3rd party add ons (AT LAST :clap: )

    All it needs now is to be able to rip CD's to wav files for the audiophiles amongst us!!

    Del :smoke:
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    I've been using it for a couple of months now. I can't see much difference between this and WMP9 to be honest.
     
  4. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Why is it that this doesn't appear as an update, either on the Windows Update home page or by checking for updates from within Media Player?
    Is this version just for the Media Center OS?
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    I think it was still a Beta version when I got it. Not sure if it's in final release or not yet ?
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Looks to be final release now but it doesn't appear as an update anywhere.
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    maybe you have to click on the "check for player updates" option in the help menu of WMP9 ?
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I refer you to my earlier post:
    Unsurprisingly it states something along the lines of having the latest version of WMP9 and no updates being available...

    I wonder if the update feature is designed to check for a completely new version and not just updates to version 9?
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,764
    Yes I think you may be right about that - I think that was the case when I went from WMP8 to WMP9 thinking about it.
     
  10. Lem

    Lem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you running Windows 2000? V10 only works on XP at the moment.
     
  11. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I'm running XP Pro.
    I've installed V10 now but it has to be done manually from the link MikeTV provided; neither of the automatic update features detects that V10 is available for download.
     
  12. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    I'll still use EAC for ripping, LAME for MP3, FLAC for lossless oh and Winamp for playback :)

    I did install it, doesn't really seem too much different.
     
  13. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    This works a treat for my 43MXE1. Thanks for pointing it out, I'd been running 10 for a while and not noticed it. I'd resorted to WinAmp to change the aspect ratio to compenate.
     

Share This Page

Loading...