Windows Media Centre won't recognise tvLINK

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by ian1944, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. ian1944

    ian1944
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WMC insists on recognsing an IR control to complete configuration of a satellite TV feed. The standard Sky remote control 'tvLINK' is external to the TV tuner in the PC and there is no way that WMC can detect it or influence it.

    Is there any alternative way to control the (remote) Sky/Sky+ box or do I have to configure the TV tuner to think it's using an ordinary aerial and use two handsets to control my viewing?

    Any bright ideas would be most welcome ;)
     
  2. paulm187

    paulm187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +80
    You need the the MCE IR reciever/blaster to configure the SKy set-top-box in MCE.
     
  3. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    As Paul says it's not just any old IR receiver that is required but the correct Microsoft Media Center one. This is because when you are configuring a Set Top Box the IR receiver with IR bug is required to control the channels changing on the STB so that e.g. unattended recordings can be made.
     

Share This Page

Loading...