Wanted Windows Media Centre remote - RC6

Discussion in 'Archived Classifieds' started by AMc, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    Hi, my trusty knockoff Microsoft MCE remote has started to show it's age and a couple of buttons have died so I'm looking for a replacement.

    I'd prefer the Microsoft "peanut" shaped remote but happy to consider others providing they are RC6 compliant and will work with the Microsoft USB receiver.

    No silly prices please as there are plenty under £20 on the bay!

    Location: Near Norwich

    ______________________________________________________
    This message is automatically inserted in all classifieds forum threads.
    By replying to this thread you agree to abide by the trading rules detailed here.
    Please be advised, all buyers and sellers should satisfy themselves that the other party is genuine by providing the following via private conversation to each other after negotiations are complete and prior to dispatching goods and making payment:

    • Landline telephone number. Make a call to check out the area code and number are correct, too
    • Name and address including postcode
    • Valid e-mail address
    DO NOT proceed with a deal until you are completely satisfied with all details being correct. It's in your best interest to check out these details yourself.
     
  2. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    Bing Bong Bump!
     
  3. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +217
    is this the one you want
     
  4. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +217
    IMAG0848.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  5. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    That's the one - though I don't really need the IR receiver.
    How much would you like for it?
     
  6. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +217
    £20 INC for it all
     
  7. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    That's more than I was hoping to spend so a few questions if I may?
    How old is it?
    Where did it come from?
    Has it been used - much/at all?
     
  8. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +217
    its actually brand new
     
  9. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    I'm puzzled - the web is full of reports that Microsoft discontinued their remote in 2010.
    I've found links that they stopped certifying 3rd party devices for MCE in June 2012.
     
  10. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +217
    i have built and then sold loads of pc's over the years

    this had only been found in my box of cables by mistake


    hence its brand new and never used
     
  11. GaryP

    GaryP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +149
  12. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    @AMCross Makes sense now :)

    @GaryP thanks I'd seen your thread but your price was more than I want to pay and you've already rejected my "budget " (cough :))

    I've picked up a "brand new" Sony remote for under a tenner on eBay which arrived today and is fine but not quite as nice to hold.

    Given I don't need the receiver you'll both probably get a better price from someone who needs the set.

    If either of you could drop to £15 delivered I would like a spare.
     
  13. geordieboy25

    geordieboy25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +46
    I'm sure I have a remote in my garage. Unsure of condition etc but give me an hour to dig it out and I'll post a pic. Will only want £5 plus postage.
     
  14. geordieboy25

    geordieboy25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +46
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1434049506.084216.jpg
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1434049524.052135.jpg
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1434049537.732217.jpg
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1434049552.249907.jpg
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1434049566.247282.jpg
    ImageUploadedByAVForums1434049577.865240.jpg

    Better condition than I thought. Few marks at the top but generally quite good. Let me know. £7.50 inc.
     
  15. GaryP

    GaryP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,834
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +149
    I wont drop lower than £17.50, but it looks like your problems have been solved above. It seems that buying a new remote on ebay with geordieboys would actually have got you the remote you were looking for in the first place !
     
  16. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    I said you'd rejected my budget! ;)
    I paid £9.98 delivered for the Sony remote, it arrived in 2 days and it was still shrink wrapped so I don't think I was robbed.

    Have you got any way to test it? I wouldn't want to waste your time and my money if it's been sitting in a garage and the capacitors have given up the ghost.
    You can determine if it's sending IR by looking at the front end with a mobile phone camera, should see a blinking light. If you had a Media PC or an xbox360 that would be even better, but it doesn't seem likely as it's been in your garage :)
     
  17. geordieboy25

    geordieboy25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +46
    Just put batteries in and it powered up my Xbox 360 no problems. When you press the buttons they light up etc. seems to work fine.
     
  18. geordieboy25

    geordieboy25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +46
    Just put batteries in and it powered up my Xbox 360 no problems. When you press the buttons they light up etc. seems to work fine.
     
  19. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    So good you said it twice! ;)

    That's great! I've started a "conversation" with my details so we can arrange payment and shipping.:thumbsup:
     
  20. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,359
    MCE remote arrived AOK - leaving feedback then archiving! :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...